Arrabbiata Pasta Sauce

For several years now, Mr. Fae and I have enjoyed eating this pasta sauce made by Mezzetta and we love it.  It has a spicy-ness that catches you by surprise.  I happened to read through the ingredients and what?  That’s all?  I can do that!  (It’s that Can Do attitude I always get right before I fall flat on my face.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I purchased the other ingredients that I felt should also go into the sauce, including dried chiles. Here is what I used:

I sautéed the onions and garlic in EVOO.  Oh yes I did just say that.  Take that, Rachel Ray!  And then crushed just one chile in my hand and sprinkled into the onion-garlic mixture.  I purchased two 28 ounce cans of San Marzano whole tomatoes because I was guessing at the amount it would take to make.  Good thing I did.  I also added two tablespoons of tomato paste for thickening.  I let it all start to simmer.  Once it got hot and bubbly, I added the wine, vinegar, sugar, salt, pepper, oregano (not shown), and basil.  Here is how to make a chiffonade using fresh basil.

 

 

I let this simmer until it got to a thickness that I like.  I let it cool down a bit and then put it in the Vitamix.  I saved some of the sauce for a bit of ‘chunky-ness’ not much, because I don’t care for a chunky pasta sauce.  Once blended, the actual sauce was done.  All that it needed now was some browned up ground beef and voila!  Arrabbiata Pasta Sauce was created.  If you like spicy, add 1/2 additional chile to the mixture but I found that one was enough for me.  Once it cooled, I put it into the refrigerator overnight and to let the flavors blend.  It was wonderful!

Here’s the printable recipe if you want to try to make it not buy it.

Arrabbiata Pasta Sauce

4 T EVOO

1-2 dried red chiles, crumbled

4 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 large onion, chopped

sea salt and fresh ground pepper

1 t oregano

2-3 Tablespoons fresh basil, chopped

2 Tablespoons tomato paste

2 teaspoons red wine vinegar

3/4 cup Cabernet Sauvignon

2 Tablespoons sugar

2 pounds ground beef (and sausage is another option)

Heat EVOO and add chopped onions and garlic; cook for 2 minutes but don’t let burn.  Add crumbled chiles.  Add the tomatoes and tomato paste.  Let sauce thicken a bit before adding remaining ingredients.  Let simmer 20 minutes.  Blend in processor or Vitamix.  In another pan, brown ground beef, drain, and add to sauce.  Let flavors meld overnight.  Reheat and serve over your favorite pasta or spaghetti squash.

Love,

Fae

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Arrabbiata Pasta Sauce

  1. Farie says:

    Yummy! I am going to try this one! There isn’t anything spicy out there that I don’t like!

  2. Mr. Fae says:

    It is Fantastic and what makes it that way is it tastes just as good the next day!! Did anyone ever wonder how she takes such Beautiful pictures when both of her hands are seen in the pic cutting something up for her Magnificent Meals!! :-))

Leave a Reply

