We’ll make HISS-TORY!!

Last weekend, while I was scrapbooking with my long time friends, we got to talking about how long our ‘Croptoberfest’ weekends have been around.  We had various guesses and really, anything after 10 years for me is hard to pin-point.  Ok,  honest…..anything over 10 DAYS for me is hard to pin-point.  When I got home, I went to check out one of my earliest albums to see if the Croptoberfest photos were in it.  I eventually found the first one in 2000.  And then I got to thinking, ‘how did we come up with all this awesomeness?’

And I remembered.  Even after longer than 10 years.

Back in the day when AOL was THE thing to use, Fannie and were instant messaging while we both were at work.  OH YES WE DID.  Seen as how neither of us work for those particular companies anymore, I guess we can come clean about using company time, computers, blah de blah blah blah.  We had spent a few months back together scrapbooking during National Scrapbook Day (there is too!) and complained that it would be a long time until we could do it again.  ‘Wouldn’t it be great to get together twice a year to indulge in our hobby together?’, we both asked.  And then BINGO, the idea took root in both our teeny weeny brains….we would do just that.  One of the terms used in the scrapbooking hobby world is the word ‘crop’ meaning to gather together to scrapbook or it could be a scrapbooking event.  Fannie and I jumped  on that word and it became Croptoberfest.  I’m sure that at this point, she’s pointing at me and blaming me but we all know it was all her.  At least, I’m pretty sure.

Anyway, with our pointy little heads together long distance, we then discussed calling ourselves the Festers from our new autumnal meeting about to be planned.  Push came to shove, being 12 years old and all, we then decided that we would take each of our middle names, begin it with an ‘F’ and that would be our individual Fester names.

We couldn’t get more adolescent even if we wanted to.

Thus the Fester Family and Croptoberfest was born, October 2000 with meetings each and every year.  We have a Nevada branch and an Oregon branch.  Our numbers ebb and flow depending on family obligations, interests going off into other directions, the stupid recession and what not.  It is by far one of the most looked forward to weekends that we scrappers have.

In reviewing these photos, I marvel at all the changes that have taken place in our scrapbooking.  With most hobbies, changes or styles happen all the time.  I laugh when I look over some of the older layouts that I used die cuts, stickers, corner edgers, fibers, twine, ribbon, metal,  torn paper, and jewels on.  Phewey!  And last but not least, making the mental jump from paper or 3D scrapping to digital for me and for more than half of the Nevada group has been the biggest change in my hobby.  I made the decision to go digital in 2009 and have not looked back once.  Although I started in 2009, some of my digital layouts show up earlier than that because I was so behind in my scrapbooks.  Digital allowed me to catch up with lightening speed.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

We have been through so much over the years….births, deaths, job loss, cancer, infertility, engagements! weddings! relocation, divorce, betrayal, and finally BLOGGING!

Stay tuned, there is so much more to come…

love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Hobbies, Scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

