Pinning is Winning!

I am slightly addicted to Pinterest.  Not sure why, but I am obsessed with what everyone else is pinning.  And I am obsessed with ideas that I will probably never get around to.

However, this weekend I had about a half a bushel of apples to do something with.  See, Biff bought me an apple tree (Golden Delicious self-pollinating!) for my birthday a couple of years ago, and this year the tree produced A LOT of apples!  We can only eat so many a day, so I decided to do something with the rest of them.  Having no idea what to do, besides make an apple crisp, I looked to Pinterest for answers.  And I found it: apple butter.

Now, like some of you, I thought apple butter was some sort of apple mixed with butter.  Wrong!  It is just cooked down apples, and it looks sorta like butter!  So I decided to try it.  In the crock pot. Because Pinterest is not only about doing new things, but doing it the easy way!

All it takes is apples, water, some sugar and cinnamon.  It calls for allspice, too, but I didn’t have any.  No problem!

First, I peeled and cored the apples, and this was really the most time-consuming part.

Lots and lots of apples to use!

 

With cinnamon and brown sugar! Yummy!

Then I popped it all in the crock pot (notice the liner I bought).

Set it and forget it!

After about twelve hours, it looked good enough to eat!  I followed the Pinner’s advice and used my immersion blender to get it nice and creamy.  And I was done!

Looks Good!

I LOVE my immersion blender!

Finished product!

This doesn’t make enough to give as gifts or anything. I am glad I tried it, though, and the apple butter tastes wonderful on toast. It makes a great alternative to actual butter and jam; a lot fewer calories to worry about!  I am thinking about making this for Christmas gifts for Biff’s family, so I will be making a much bigger batch next month.  I am glad that not all of the things I see on Pinterest are complete crap!

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pinning is Winning!

  1. Fae says:

    Looks delish!! How many apples did you use? I love the crockpot liners…can’t do without them anymore. And, btw, this is totally Paleo…..;-)

  2. Felia says:

    But there is sugar in it. I figured if you can’t have cheese, you certainly can’t have SUGAR! 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    Yummy! I am making this. I wonder how it would turn out with pears…I have a ton of them.

Leave a Reply

