What’s your (photography) style?

One of the many things that I’ve learned in my photography education is the type of photos that I tend to veer towards.  There are many styles and types of photos to be taken.  And there are photographers out there that are masters of these styles.  Take a look in any phone book, ok, I just dated myself there by referencing ‘phone book’.  Let’s try this again.  Take a Google search for photographers in your area and you’ll be amazed at the amount of them and the types of them.  Need a wedding photographer?  Done.  Need a sports team photographer?  Done.  Need school photos?  Done.  Need photos of your home?  Done.  Need family portraits?  Done.

So very many photographers specialize in specific areas.  They have fine-tuned their skills into what draws them to photography.  What I love seeing is the photography skills my scrapbooking co-horts are doing now as compared to when we all first began!

What draws you to a specific photograph?  Is it the colors or the location?  Is it the filters applied to the picture or the subject matter?

When I was younger and using whatever camera I could afford, be it a Polaroid or a instamatic (again, I just dated myself, didn’t I?) I never stopped to consider the shot I was taking.  Due to this, I have so very many photos of itsy bitsy people that you can barely recognize.  I stood too far back from them or I tried to include huge amounts of landscape around them.  Why?  Because I didn’t know any differently.  Do you have photos like that?

This is my Dad, showing my son how to ride his bike without training wheels. Like the driveway?

Or I have blurred photos or photos with my thumb covering one corner or photos (the worst yet) of posed subjects so stiff and boring, that you just end up turning the picture over in disgust.

What I have learned now, finally, is that I’m drawn to close ups of people or things.  I like to see the detail in photo.  I like to see bits and pieces of an event.  Those items, when added up, tell me more of the story than any panorama photo could. 

I still take group shots, but my preference is close ups of faces or things.  This preference drives some members of my family crazy.  Why?  It’s just not their idea of a photo they’d like and usually it’s of them.  But that’s ok by me.  Here’s my take on it.  It’s my camera, it’s my time, and it’s my end result.  I let them take whatever photos they like; I will, too.

What I’m not too crazy about is the burgeoning amount of camera phone photos that are being taken.  I understand the immediacy of getting a good shot because the actual camera is not available.  But in reality, camera phone photos look great on phones.  You really can’t enlarge them without digitizing the hell out of the shot.  I know that the future holds the tantalizing treat of higher pixels for those cameras but for now, give me my Canon and I’m good to go.

In respect to my choice of distance from the subject matter, let me be clear….I’m not that fond of macro close ups.  That usually tends to creep me out; either that or the subject matter creeps me out.  I know that there are shots out there that are absolutely gorgeous in a macro set up, but when someone says ‘macro’ this is what I think of.

Exactly.

 Yikes.

And here is the beauty of macro shots.

I can take or leave ‘distant’ shots.  Most of the time any panorama shots leave something to be desired.  And most of the time, the average Joe taking a landscape shot doesn’t have the equipment or knowledge to increase the beauty of the said landscape.  Water vapor usually decreases the color all over the landscape resulting in whiteout or washed out photos.  Our eyes see through all that but our cameras (set on auto) can’t.

Here is one of the very best distant and I mean distant shots that I have seen.  I just love how the photographer used a spot light painting the area away from him to give the viewer the reference of distance to the subject.

My preference is and will always be close ups.  And if you don’t like the close up I take of you, there is always Portrait Professional I can apply to it.

These are my grandchildren in my shots.  Can’t get any better in my book.

Love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Hobbies, Photography, Scrapbooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

