Meat marinade

I’ve loved twice before I found my one true love; my true North.  But promises broken in one case and secrets in the other left us separate, apart.  What do you say when things like that happen to good people?  We’ll be friends?  I’ll always have a place for you in my heart?  Bah.  I’m sure that we’ll be together again, most likely at holiday parties or celebrations.  But it won’t be the same.  Why?  Because I have found THE ONE and I’ll love no other.

Marinade, that is.

At our annual family Christmas party last year, our host and hostess served a delicious marinaded meat that I thought, “Wow!  That is Excellent.”  I asked for the marinade recipe and I’m still waiting for it.  Hmmpff.  Family!  Also, one of my friend’s dad marinates tri tip in a red wine concoction that I’ve coveted but have been warned I would be killed if he gave me the recipe.  So here I was, ‘marinating’ in my own juices for a great marinade to use on tri tip roasts.  I searched and searched.  I tried many recipes and variations of recipes until Mr. Fae said….”Do we have to have tri tip AGAIN?”

Ok, so I went over board.  I tend to do that sometimes.

But at the end of summer, I tripped over a marinade in the web ether and thought…hmmm.  This sounds…good.  Could be very good.  The first time I used it, I followed the recipe to the T.  The second time, I improvised a bit.  I tweaked it a little.  And now I have the most wonderful meat marinade of all time.  Oh yes I do.

What follows is the Paleo version with substitutions in parentheses for non-Paleo kooks.

Also, I’d like to tip my toque off to Chef V for the original version.

But before I list everything, I’d like to show you two of the ingredients that you might not have heard about before.  The first is Grape Seed Oil.  I use this type of oil when I know I’ll be cooking at a very high heat.  I do not use vegetable or canola oil any longer as those are BAD…very BAD for you.  Also, I don’t use olive oil when it will be used in high heat.  Olive oil tends to oxidize in high heat while grape seed oil does not.  There is no taste to grape seed oil at all.

The second thing I’d like to show you is Coconut Aminos.  We use this as our soy sauce as Paleo eaters to not eat anything soy based.  The coconut aminos were a huge surprise to use as there is absolutely no coconut taste or flavor at all and I couldn’t tell the difference in taste between Soy Sauce and Coconut Aminos.

Now…here is what I used in my marinade:

Looks like a lot of ingredients, but it really isn’t and it comes together within 10 minutes.

Make sure that you trim your meat really well.  The first time I bought a tri tip and cooked it, I left all that rind of tough fat on it.  Let me be the first to warn you….don’t try that at home!  Yuck.

Once it gets all trimmed out, cut into it small slices for the garlic to slip into.  Oh my yes…raw garlic…marinating and cooking within the meat.  My mouth is watering as I type this.

Place the garlicky meat into a plastic ziplock bag, pour the marinade on top if it.  Seal and place in refrigerator until cooking time.  (Remember to bring meat to room temp before placing on grill)  I would marinate this at least six hours or longer for best results.

Marinade

1/2 cup fresh lemon juice

1/2 cup grape seed oil (canola oil for non-Paleo)

1/4 cup organic honey (white sugar for non-Paleo)

1/4 cup coconut aminos (soy sauce for non-Paleo)

2 T black pepper

1 T garlic powder

1 T sea salt

1 T onion powder

1 T paprika

1 T lemon pepper

1 T minced dried onions

3 T garlic slices for inserting into the meat

1 tri tip roast, trimmed of all fat

Mix all ingredients except garlic slices in a two cup measure, stir.  Cut small slices all over meat and insert the garlic slices.  Place meat into ziplock bag and pour the marinade over it.  Place in refrigerator at least 6 hours before using.  Over night is best.

Hope you enjoy this!

Love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meat marinade

  1. Farie says:

    Yummy, Fae! I will be adding this to my recipes! I am so sorry that we don’t have a Whole Foods close to us.

Leave a Reply

