Turkey Stock or Chicken Stock or Cornish Game Stock. You get the picture.

The day after Thanksgiving as I was perusing the sale ads, I came across a small recipe block in our local newspaper.  It was a recipe a local chef and store owner concocted that sounded so ridiculously easy that I had to try it.  I had my turkey carcass still sitting in the refrigerator waiting for me to make my traditional soon-after-Thanksgiving soup so I thought, ‘why not?’  I had read before of roasting beef bones or veal bones to make stock but my puny brain did not make the jump to roast chicken or turkey bones.  Doh!

The ingredient list is short and sweet; the only thing that you might not have that truly is the best, would be the fresh herbs.  That’s all I needed from the store as I had everything else.  And the largest roaster I had with all the ingredients in it, made up 10 cups of stock.

I didn’t take pictures of the ingredients nor of the cooking because it is so simple, well….take a look.

Turkey Stock

  • 1 carcass from roasted turkey (or chicken) most of the meat removed but some still attached
  • 4 carrots, peeled and chopped into thirds
  • 4 celery stalks, chopped into thirds
  • 2 large yellow onion, UNpeeled and quartered
  • 1 lemon, rinsed and quartered
  • 6 peppercorns
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 herb bundle.  I used parsley, thyme, rosemary and sage and I put them all inside the cavity of the bird.
  • cold water

Preheat oven to 225˚.  Place all ingredients into your largest roasting pan except water with a lid.  Cover it all with COLD water, put the lid on, and place it in your oven for 12 hours.  Ta da.  That’s it.  After 12 hours, your stock is ready.  Trash all the solids, strain the broth into a clean container and chill.  Once chilled, scoop off any fat from the top of the broth.  I put my broth into several containers that held two cups each, labeled them, and put them into the freezer.  It does taste really good and the ease of the recipe has me hooked.

Thanks to Nancy Horn of Dish Cafe’

Love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turkey Stock or Chicken Stock or Cornish Game Stock. You get the picture.

  1. Fannie says:

    Great recipe, Fae. I will have to try this as I usually just use the stock for turkey soup and, frankly, after all of the turkey leftovers, the turkey soup loses it’s appeal and most of it gets tossed. I think it was in William Sonoma that I saw this handy gadget; it’s a large cheese cloth sort of bag contraption that you put all of the broth fixings in, with a drawstring at the top. Fill it up, draw it closed, plop it in your pot, cover with water, cook as usual and then, when all is done, just pull the whole bag out and throw it away…no need to strain the solids (think ginormous herb bundle). Of couse, SOMEBODY could try and make one of these cheese cloth contraptions themselves and let us know how it goes…just sayin’

    • Fae says:

      Did the carcass go in as well? I see ripping the bag with turkey bones in my head but maybe not depending on the material used. That would make it all easier in a recipe that is ease itself….

Leave a Reply

