DYI: Fun With Wine (Corks, That Is)

If you know me at all, you might not consider me a DIYer.  That is because I am not.  I don’t really consider myself super crafty, but I sure appreciate people who are!  But this week is Do-It-Yourself week here at Idiosyncrazies, so I busted out my glue gun and got on some projects I have been meaning to get around to.  Besides, it is raining like cats and dogs here, and that helps put me in a crafty mood.

I should also mention here that we drink a lot of wine.  Between Biff, my dad and I, I think we have enough corks to get me through quite a few projects.

First up!  Easy-as-pie cork magnets.  I saw this sweet little project on Pinterest, and I thought, man, even I could do that.

So I did! And it didn’t turn out so well.  Apparently you need a pretty strong magnet in order to hold anything with it.  I bought some magnets at Michael’s Arts and Crafts, and I should have gone with the heavy-duty ones, but alas.  Now these corks just look pretty sitting on my fridge, rather than being useful and actually holding things up.

What you will need.

What you will need.

It's so hard to use a glue gun!

It’s so hard to use a glue gun!

Finished product!

Finished product!

Second project: Tree ornaments!  I stole this idea from a friend in Idaho (thanks, Jan!) and I thought I could do it.  Biff thinks I need more greenery or something to give it more pizzaz, but what does he know about crafting?  (He is actually right, but I was getting bored with it, so I told him to finish it up himself if he was so concerned about it.)

This one is easy, too.  Just glue corks into a shape that resembles a tree.  Simple as that!

It totally looks like a tree.

It totally looks like a tree.

See?  Now it's an ornament because I added the ribbon.

See? Now it’s an ornament because I added the ribbon.

Whew!  Now I am getting my crafting ON!  Next up:  my big project of the day.  My mom got this pretty tile in the Basque Country and wanted to make something out of it, but never got around to it. (I think I am sensing a trend here, but I am NOTHING like my mother, dammit! So stop trying to tell me that I am.) I decided I would take up this project.  And keep it for myself.  Oh, shit.  Now I TOTALLY sound like my mom.

On with the project: Gluing corks around a tile!  Seriously, who thinks of this stuff? Could it be any easier!?

Yes.  Yes it could.  I wanted the coolness of displaying different kinds of corks from the different kinds of wines and ciders, but they are not all of a uniform shape!  Argh!  Now my OCD is kicking in and I am pissed.  So, once again, Biff to the rescue and he figures out a way to satisfy both my OCD need and my “cool” need.

OCD strickes again!

OCD strikes again!

IMG_0738

Finished product!

Now that I am done with these projects, I am left with a LOT of wine corks.  I mean, a lot.  So I decide to make a couple of trivets.  If you end up with one of these as a Christmas gift, know that it was made from love, and left over wine corks.  And also know that it is a coffee mug trivet.  Not a pan trivet.  I didn’t have enough for that big of a project.

Start gluing corks together!

Start gluing corks together!

It's a mug trivet!

It’s a mug trivet!

Add a little ribbon, and it's a gift!

Add a little ribbon, and it’s a gift!

And that concludes our DIY instruction for the day.  Please, feel free to dust off that glue gun you have hidden away in the closet and give these ideas a try!  Because seriously, if I can do it, anyone can do it!

This entry was posted in Crafts, DIY. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DYI: Fun With Wine (Corks, That Is)

  1. Fae says:

    these are all really cute ideas, but I bet I have more corks than you….

Leave a Reply

