DIY – Phone holder

IMG_8999When I first heard about Pinterest, almost three years ago now!, I saw this little jewell and thought, ‘Wow, I want..no, I NEED one of these!”  The one I saw was knitted or crocheted or crewel worked or embroidered or something with string.  I thought it was so cute.  I scoured Etsy to find one but no such luck.  Later on this year, I saw where someone had made one out of an empty shampoo container.  What brilliance I thought!  Handy and smells good.  This would be a piece of cake.

A fourteen layered royal wedding cake that is.  With 10 side cakes as well.

I’ve always considered myself a crafter; I have loved doing ‘crafty’ things my entire life.  I have done crewel work; embroidery, sewing clothes, scrapbooking, and a host of other things.  (don’t even get me started on the hair clips I made for my daughter using ribbon, a wooden dowel, and my oven).

So when I saw the phone holder, I knew that it would soon be in my kitchen with both Mr. Fae and I fighting over the usage of it.

Editor’s note:  If you want a usable utility piece to be fought over, discretion MUST be employed in the selection of colors.

Mr. Fae took one look at my handy work, chuckled, saw the look on my face and rearranged his laughter to one of contemplation of all the hard work I did.  He has mastered the art of back pedaling.

He has not used the phone sock? holder? flimsy piece of L’Oreal-smelling-device underneath the outlet once.  But then, neither have I.  I charge my phone in my office while Mr. Fae charges his in the kitchen where said phone holder resides.  Lonely, pushed aside phone holder.  In really cute scrapbooking papers!

Let’s just get started here…

Lather, rinse, repeat until your shampoo or conditioner bottle is empty, making sure you have another full on handy for tomorrow.  Trust me.

Tools you will need:

IMG_8986

You may think that I’m one of those people who can’t do anything without the cell phone attached to my hip.  WRONG.  I needed it to measure the cutouts on the conditioner bottle.  And to call 911 when I sliced my hand with the box cutter.  Just kidding.  You will also need the charging unit as well to measure against the bottle.  Measure, measure, slice, slice.  And as I got further into this project, I found that I needed my Fiskar paper cutter and scrapbook paper.  If you want to use fabric, be my guest.  You’ll need your glue gun for that.  I first used my scrapbooking stash of adhesives, but found that I needed something with a bit more strength to it and found that ordinary Scotch tape worked just fine.

So here is where I show you why I never majored in Engineering.  Or Thinking Ahead, if they had that major in college.  I cut out the charger hole and then started cutting out the area that the phone would slip into.  Doh.  IMG_8987

So, backtracking here….I cut out the second charger hole on the back of the bottle.  So far, so good.  Usual household scissors didn’t work very well and I subsided in using my handy dandy box cutter.  What you can’t see is the bottle of wine in the background cheering me on.

Wine.  Box cutter.  Nice combo.

Once I had the two holes cut out, I again checked for quality control in that everything fit.   I had to fine tune a few of the cuts and use a ruler to make more than one edge straight.  Or straighter, I should say.IMG_8991

Next up, I used my paper cutter along with my choice of patterned paper.  Ok, here’s the deal.  I didn’t want anything in the kitchen that would clash with the colors I’ve used nor did I want anything flowery or too feminine that Mr. Fae might object to.  Obviously, I was WAY off on his objections to my paper.

What?  I used cream, brown, green, and blue.  I could have used paisley or My Little Kitty, but no…I went with the masculine look.  If, by masculine, I meant it to be something an 8 year old little girl would like, I did just fine.

I measured and cut and taped my paper into place, learning that my scrapbooking adhesive was not up to par with holding down the paper onto the plastic material.

IMG_8992 IMG_8993 IMG_8995 IMG_8996

The little square glue stickers just couldn’t do the trick and I was getting pretty close to using the staple gun.  But no….this project was for the DIY blog post and needed to look nice.  Oh, and of course, it was for Mr. Fae, as well.

IMG_8997 IMG_8998

Here is the final project with my phone and charger decorating an outlet in my kitchen.  I did not take into consideration the length of my phone in conjunction with where I placed the charging hole so that the cord, charger and phone all clump together.  If you plan on making one of these, remember that.IMG_9001

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2012-12-06 at 11.27.01 AM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Crafts, DIY and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to DIY – Phone holder

  1. Farie says:

    What a clever little minx you are! Way to reuse, repurpose and recycle! Love it!

  2. Made On Main Street says:

    Reblogged this on Made On Main Street and commented:
    I think I’m going to make me one of these!

  3. Made On Main Street says:

    This is so cool! Can’t wait to “do it myself”!

Leave a Reply

