Tomato Jam

What the hell is Tomato Jam?  And why would anyone want to make it let alone taste it?  When I saw the title to this recipe, my nose went up a bit and my lips pursed as if I smelled something wrong.  Disbelief that anyone would actually WANT tomato jam was incomprehensible to me.

And like most things that make me do a double take, I read the recipe.  Simple and intriguing.  Well, I had all the ingredients in the refrigerator.  Why not?

Oh Emm Gee.

I can’t even describe how good this is.  I literally had to stop myself from eating it straight from the jar.  Mr. Fae puts it on his eggs or any meat.  It has become a staple of ours sitting in the refrigerator right next to the Pesto.

Please, do yourself a favor.  Make this once; just once and you’ll become a believer as well.IMG_9337

Five simple ingredients

Grab a big pot and start some water bubbling and boiling.  Cut the stem end off and then play Zorro (or maybe Xerro?) and cut an ‘X’ on the bottom of each tomato.

IMG_9339Place the tomatoes into the boiling water with a big spoon.  You won’t burn your little itsy bitsy fingers that way.  Let them boil for a few minutes….two to three minutes.  Remove and place into a bowl.  You’ll see that the skin is coming off the tomatoes.  Let them cool a bit and then just grab the skin and lift it off.  Easy peasy.

IMG_9341

IMG_9343Next, cut up the onion and basil.  Wash that pot of boiling water because you’re going to use it now.  Cut up into small pieces all the tomatoes; add the onion, basil, honey, and Scricha  Sriccha Sriracha Sauce.  Jeez, that’s hard to spell.  Just a tablespoon or two cuz this is the hot stuff.  Now, turn your stove down to low, low, low.  This will cook for about 90 minutes to two hours.  Just until all the juice evaporates.  Do not let it burn dry!IMG_9344

See that big dollop of red in the lower right hand corner?  That’s the Sricccha (whatever) Sauce that I used in this batch.

Once it’s all cooked down, take it off the burner and let cool.  I use just a canning jar even though this isn’t a canned item per se.  I just like using canning jars for things.

It tastes Voonderbar Baby!

IMG_2855

Tomato Jam

  • 2 pounds of ripe tomatoes
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped white onion
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped basil
  • 1-2 teaspoons Sriracha sauce
  • salt and pepper

Slice of the top of the tomato and cut an ‘X’ just through the skin on the bottom of the tomato.  Bring large pot of water to boil.  Place tomatoes into water and let boil for a few mintues.  Remove from water and let cool slightly.  Remove skin from tomatoes and chop into small pieces.  Place tomatoes and remainder of ingredients into pot and let simmer for 1.5 to 2 hours or until juice evaporates.  Now you have JAM!

Have a wonderful New Year’s Celebration…and if you’re staying home and cooking, we hope that you’ll be using some of our recipes.  See you next year!

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2012-12-27 at 8.34.15 AM

 

 

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tomato Jam

  1. Farie says:

    Yummy! I’m going to make this for sure!

Leave a Reply

