Crockpot Pulled Pork

IMG_9900Although it’s absolutely freezing outside now, the smell of a summertime meal, pulled pork, is wafting through our house.  I like to use the crockpot all year long and not just during the summer when it’s too hot to fire up the oven.  After a day of near freezing temps as the HIGH, digging into this meal is a toasty highlight.  As it has cooked for 8 hours, the onions are nice and caramelized with all the wonderful spices used as the dry rub and the pork falls apart.  Is your mouth watering yet?  Mine is…

Let’s get started…go to the store and buy yourself a boneless pork butt roast.

IMG_9863And if you’ve never used a crockpot liner before, buy one of those as well.  They come in a a thin package of 6 liners.  Use once and throw them out.  They are wonderful when it’s time to clean up and get the dishes done.

I use a small bowl to put all the spices into and then mix up.  I also leave the meat in the tray it comes in while I rub the  spices onto it.

IMG_9866

 

IMG_9868

 

Cut up the onion and you don’t have to be fancy about it at all.  When it’s all done cooking, the onion is perfectly caramelized and tasty with the dry rub infused onto it.

Place half the onion on the bottom of the crockpot, top with the spiced pork roast, and finish it off with the remainder of the onions.  Put the crockpot on low for 8 hours.  I pull up the crockpot bag and pour it all into a 13×9 inch pan to shred the pork.  After it’s all shredded, I just mix it all together with the juices and onions.  This is a fairly simple way to make pulled pork that doesn’t require BBQ sauce.  HOWEVER,  that’s not to say you couldn’t pour some BBQ sauce on top of all this.  We’ve been known to do just that.  You can eat it like this, or on burger buns, or place a big spoonful on top of some shredded cabbage.  Pulled pork is delicious anyway you want to eat it.

Here is the dry mix:

  • 3 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon coriander
  • 2 teaspoons sea salt
  • 2 teaspoons onion powder
  • 3 teaspoons cumin
  • 1 tablespoon dried parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon chipotle powder

Use one very large onion or two medium onions, sliced.  Place half on the bottom of the crockpot, then dry rubbed roast, then remainder of onions on top of roast.  Cook for 8 hours on low in crockpot.  No liquid is necessary.

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-01-03 at 12.47.39 PM

 

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Paleo approved and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crockpot Pulled Pork

  1. Felia says:

    This looks DELISH! I can’t wait to try it. And good call on the liners. A must have, in my opinion.

    • Fae says:

      Occasionally, I will forget to use a liner in the crockpot and kick myself at clean up time!! Now I store the liners in the crockpot so that I don’t forget.

Leave a Reply

