It’s a New Year!

It’s a new year here, and it is time for New Year’s Resolutions, or what I like to call, “A list of Shit I need to do, but don’t really want to do, so I will never get around to it, then I will feel guilty for not doing it, making me then feel like a bad person, spiralling me into a deep depression, and then I REALLY won’t want to do it.”  It’s a vicious cycle.

So, in the spirit of not even stepping into vicious cycles, and recognizing them before you get into that quicksand of self-hatred, I decided to make a FUN New Year’s Resolution list.  Here it is.  Enjoy.

1) Get Married and have a BEAUTIFUL wedding! 

OK, so this has been on my to-do list since I was about 14 and decided that becoming an animal hoarder and living in my own filth was not option, and the best way to do that is have a companion that would keep me from being bored.  And I found him!  After an EXHAUSTIVE search, I finally found someone who will put up with my weirdness.  So this year will be focused on my wedding (i.e. rockin’ party) and you, dear readers, will get to hear all about it!  (Starting next week……..)

2) Read more.

I am not sure if I can do this, as I read quite a bit.  But I LOVE reading, so I am going to do it more often this year.  On my to-read list:  Finish that loooooooong Outlander series.  And I am reading Jenny Lawson’s (aka The Bloggess) memoir.  And I laugh out loud. A lot. In the gym, causing people to stare at me more than they already do with my awkwardness. (Honestly, please go out and buy this book.  SO FUNNY!)

3) Satisfy my Downton Abbey addiction  craving and watch it every week, no matter how much Biff makes fun of me. 

Which means doing things on Sunday night is OUT because I no longer have a DVR.  Saving money for Number 1. Sacrifices, people! And honestly if you haven’t already seen Downton Abbey and you are a woman between the ages of 10 and 110, please just do yourself a favor and watch it.  It is like a Pride and Prejudice set during WWI combined with a really good trashy novel.  As I watching last night, I almost teared up because I was so happy.  And that doesn’t happen often.  Tearing up, that is.  Seriously, watch the show people.  Now, your boyfriend, husband, partner, partner in crime WILL tease you endlessly about it. But Biff DOES admit that he would rather be forced to watch Downton than Glee, but he won’t willingly watch either one.  (The man has priorities, standards, and Man Card to be concerned with.)

4) Try to be as stress-free as possible, and do whatever it takes to get there.

I have been telling people:  I went to grad school and bought a house on my own, and those combined is not half as stressful as planning a wedding without ruining your mother and father’s retirement in the process. Seriously. Stress case here.  So in the spirit of trying to be a beautiful calm bride, I am going to do things that help me.  Like reading and watching Downton Abbey.

This entry was posted in Holidays, Hot Topics, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s a New Year!

  1. Fae says:

    When you look back at your wedding, and you will believe me, it will always be beautiful and you’ll be happy because of it. And really? You want to read more???? You and Tiff already read more than I do and I thought that that was a lot! But you’ll love the Outlander series…I’m on my 12th? 112th? reading of it. I got Mr. Fae to watch (and enjoy) Downton Abbey and he’s a Lifetime Achievement Award recipient of Man Cards so no worries there. As far as being stress-free, feel free to use my mantra, “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming!”

  2. Farie says:

    You Ladies have sucked me into Downton…I stayed up until 11 last night, my brain in a veritable “High English” coma during my 8:30 am meeting this morning! Tell Tracy you CAN start watching it after having missed the first two seasons (which Santa bought me for Christmas, but I haven’t started to watch yet). Hubby fell asleep during it.
    As for the Outlander Series, I don’t think I am nearly as ambitious as you…I will be happy if I read #2 and #3 this year. Yes, Fae, I may read a bit more than you, but nowhere near as much as Felia! When I grow up, I want to be like her!
    And as far as being stress-free, that is what friends and wine are for. Unless you’re doing the Whole 30 then you’ve kinda screwed yourself out of the wine that you would really like to be drinking right now, but you still have your friends.
    I think we should resurrect these when we post next year to see what we did or did not do!

Leave a Reply

