Yea! Another Do-Over!

Yep, 2012 is officially over. Every year I look forward to getting out a pen and paper and writing down what I hope are going to be some amazing achievable goals for the year. Seriously, the phrase “tabla rasa” makes my skin get goose-flesh! I love do-overs and I feel January 1st is Do-Over Day!

Here is the major part of my list of resolutions. Some things I add to the list several years in a row, because I still haven’t mastered them.

  1. Remember people’s birthday’s (either early or on time…not late) consistently. If you read my post early last year, then by now you’ve guessed this is one I still need to work on, so on my list it goes!
  2. Master Level 1 in the Parelli Natural Horsemanship Education Series. I love Pat Parelli’s teaching philosophy and want to learn how to master this with my old mare.
  3. Finally put some raised beds in the garden. I am tired of the critters killing my cantaloupes.
  4. Paint the trim on the house. This didn’t get done last year either…
  5. Exercise regularly, and go to Crossfit consistently. I love Crossfit! It is a butt-kicking workout, and in many ways, a real time-saver. It’s also a more social workout, which tends to make you push yourself harder than you would if you were working out on your own.
  6. To my reading list, make sure it includes a couple of books this year on self-improvement, including, but not limited to, a book on parenting teens, as well as at least complete reading two classics. (I just finished “Jane Eyre” last month, and I was very disappointed that I had waited 40+ years to read it! Shame on me!)
  7. Spend more time “dating” my hubby. This can be tough when you have a child, and a particularly active child at that. You’re tired and it takes effort, but it is so worth it.
  8. Take the time to let the people in my life know how important they are to me and that I love them. This will be done with a phone call or a note….not a text.
  9. Master my new Canon! I love photography and hope to get better and better with it as time goes on.
  10. Relax more. That’s right, just kick back and do nothing. Trust me, this is harder than it sounds.

I guess you’ll have to check back in a year to see what shows back up on my list, but for now, I’m off to read the manual on my camera!

About Farie

I am a country girl that recently came home after 15 years of "city" living. At the age of 40, I got a horse and fell in love with a little girl my husband and I adopted. I love to cook, read, run, garden and write.
This entry was posted in Hot Topics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yea! Another Do-Over!

  1. Fae says:

    It’s gotten to a point in my life that my NY’s resolutions are narrowed down to one thing. And that one thing usually works…..for January. I always forget about it later! At least you write yours down…..maybe I should do that as well. Now, let’s see….what was it again???

  2. Farie says:

    Actually, it is a proven fact that you are more likely to succeed at something if you write it down. I am a firm believer. This is also why lists are so effective….

Leave a Reply

