Why I hate Clowns. Or how to scare the living beejesus out of me.

I don’t recall the exact event in my life that destroyed any love for clowns…it just was always there.  I never liked them as a child…too big, too garish, nosy horns always being blown.   They were always just too MUCH.  But I also don’t recall being frightened by them…I just always avoided them.  If I saw one at a special event, I made sure that I was not on the same path as they were or turned my back if they looked like they would come up to me.  Cut them off at the pass, so to speak.

It wasn’t until I was married with small children of my own that I even mentioned my clown aversion to any living being.  My husband and I had taken our two small children to the circus.  While we were waiting for it to begin, we walked around the lobby area.  There were many many clowns around, making balloon animals for kids, having their photos taken with kids.  Kids and clowns go together, right?  My youngest couldn’t climb up her father fast enough to hide from an approaching clown.  Seeing the almost berserk fear in her eyes, I motioned to the clown “not here” and my husband turned his back so that our little one wouldn’t see the clown as well.  Later we talked about the incident and Mr. Fae said that he never had liked clowns as a kid.  I was astonished.

Not like clowns?  It’s not only me that doesn’t like them?  Wow.  We ARE soulmates!!

After that, whenever we saw clowns we always made sure that our kids were out of the line of sight and they were never bothered again.  I had more than enough bravery to discourage any clown that wanted to get near my kids.  Back off, Dude.

And then?  Hollywood turned my ‘clown avoidance’ into downright fear.  Enter Poltergeist.

This was a fear straight out of my very own imagination.  Some clown coming at me in the dark.  I was enjoying the movie up to that part.  After that?  I watched the remainder of the movie through my fingers, praying that there would be no more clowns.  The skeletons in the muddy swimming pool?  Kid stuff.  Clowns hiding under the bed?  Now wait a darn minute….that’s not even funny nor entertaining.

But even the director of Poltergeist had nothing on Stephen King.  No sirree.  I’m pretty sure that Mr. King somehow did the Vulcan Mind Meld on me once and saw my clown nightmares.  Then he wrote this.

Screen Shot 2013-01-04 at 9.53.19 AM

I have to brag a bit here.  I have a tremendous imagination.  I can scare myself silly in a matter of minutes if I let it have free reign.  My imagination works overtime all the time, so when I read this book I had the most terrifying clown image in my head of Pennywise.

Didn’t even come close to the film version.

Screen Shot 2012-04-19 at 8.29.18 PM

Does he look scary to you?  Yikes.  He looked fine in that promotional still.  But here is when he showed his true colors.

I even have a T-shirt that proclaims my hatred of clowns.  My extended family loved it so much that when this TV commercial came out, I received many calls.  This reminded them of me.

There you have it.  My achilles heel, so to speak.  Show up in a clown costume and I’ll turn into a screaming mimi.

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2012-10-16 at 6.11.06 PM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I hate Clowns. Or how to scare the living beejesus out of me.

  1. Mika says:

    I remember a certain overflow type pipe just up the road and along the creek from your house. It is a stand up/alone pipe and as I turned right onto this last stretch of road bringing me to a visit with you, there was the pipe with a BALLOON tied to it! Just after we were all reading IT! Damn Clowns!

  2. Fae says:

    I remember programming that damn movie at KOLO in traffic and being so excited to watch it. I learned my lesson….Tim Curry was terrific in that movie! Scared the daylights out of me too!!

Leave a Reply

