Paying It Forward

I saw this on a friend’s status and thought it was a wonderful idea…what a way to kick off the year – 
2013 Pay it forward – The first six people to comment on this status will receive a gift from me sometime in this calendar year — perhaps a book, baked goodies, a homemade craft, something completely random — a surprise! There will likely be no warning and it will happen when the mood strikes me. The catch? Those six people MUST make the same offer on their Facebook statuses (and you must send me your address).
Miss Fannie started this thread on Facebook earlier this month.  It struck a note with me because Paying It Forward was my New Year’s Resolution.  I’m not one to make a list of things I want to do or change or be each year.  And I’m not the kind that announces it to the world should I make a resolution.  I’ll let Mr. Fae know should any action of his be counterintuitive to my resolutions.  Something like “Be a sloth”….”Get more exercise”  that sort of thing that just wouldn’t work for us.  It’s our Yin and Yang of our relationship.
But getting back to that Facebook thread, it reminded me of the many times that I had been the recipient of Paying it Forward.  I’ve been in line at Starbucks and when it came to pay for my drink, it had already been done by some nice stranger.  Or I’ve had my parking paid for in parking garages.  Random acts of kindness it’s also called.  Have you done anything like that to someone you don’t know?  Have you handed out cash to any of those people standing on corners letting you know via scrawled cardboard sign that they are a hungry/homeless vet?  Have you bought a lunch for one of them and handed it to them as you drove by?
Paying it Forward doesn’t mean to only take care of someone you know but of people you don’t know.  I have been blessed with unexpected kindnesses and starting this year it is my intention to pay it forward.  And now I’ve made a proclamation while stating that I don’t announce my proclamations.
I have purchased some little ‘thank you, friend, I think of you often’ gifts and they will be going out here and there.  (And if you replied to my Facebook pay it forward status, yes, your gift will be winging it’s way to you in hopes that you, in turn, pay it forward to someone else).

Will you be receiving one of these?

Will you be receiving one of these?

Ready for Mr. UPS.

Ready for Mr. UPS.

I encourage anyone to do a nicety often.  It makes your heart smile when you do.
love,
Fae
Screen Shot 2013-01-18 at 6.59.48 AM
About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Hot Topics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

