French Toast Casserole

IMG_3649

We have had a very busy two weeks with one more week of out of town guests still to go.  Our wonderful friends from New Zealand have been in the states promoting their business of outfitter/guide.  They don’t have dinner with us because they are wining and dining potential clients so the only time we have with them during the convention is breakfast time.  And I mean to send them off each and every morning….stuffed to the gills.  They really don’t get a lunch break, per se, so what they eat in the morning really needs to last a bit.

My wonderful sister-in-law gave me this recipe when I was talking to her about the breakfasts I would be fixing.  She had made it for a family reunion breakfast once and I thought this would really do the trick for our friends.  It is stupidly easy and fast to fix, perhaps all of five minutes prep time and 45-60 minutes cook time.  Usually what I do, is fix it the afternoon before and then refrigerate it.  Reheat it for breakfast with some breakfast sausage, a few strawberries and we’re good to go!

French Toast Casserole

  • 9 slices of bread, cubed
  • 1 package of cream cheese, cubed and left to soften up
  • 12 eggs
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 cup maple syrup

Place half of the cubed bread in a 9×13 inch casserole dish, sprayed with cooking spray.  Layer half of the cubed cream cheese on top of the bread, repeating the layers once more. In a large bowl, place eggs, milk, and syrup and mix well.  If you have an emersion blender, use that.  Pour all of this over the cheese/bread mixture.  Cook at 325˚ for 45 minutes.  (My oven tends to take more time than 45 minutes so check it at that time and adjust for your oven.)  Some will use a bit of butter and more maple syrup on it once it’s served but, truthfully, that is WAY too sweet for me.

See?  Now, wasn’t that easy?

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-01-29 at 5.22.45 PM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to French Toast Casserole

  1. Farie says:

    Yummy! I have a similar recipe that adds strawberries to it.

Leave a Reply

