Steak + Bruschetta = Heaven

IMG_3707

Awhile back, I was gathering my menu ideas for the upcoming week (and subsequent grocery shopping expedition) when I ran across this recipe.  It caught my eye because, really?  Can it get any better than steak AND bruschetta?  My mind whirled at the thought of those two flavor combinations.  Plenty of tasty vegetables and, of course, protein for us carnivores.

It was recommended to serve this all over cooked spaghetti squash but I imagine serving it over a huge slice of toasted sourdough would be pretty tasty as well.  I did make a minor adjustment to the original recipe in that I added more balsamic vinegar than what it was called for.  Oh, and more basil because basil makes me want to do backflips.

Steak Bruschetta

  • steak of your choice 1 pound
  • tomatoes, 6 cups, diced
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 red onion or, like I used, 1 large shallot
  • 1/2 cup basil leaves, cut into thin ribbons.  I used almost one full cup.
  • EVOO.  Yes I just typed that.  1/4 cup
  • Balsamic vinegar.  Start with 2 tablespoons and taste.  This might be enough for you but I added about 4 tablespoons, but who’s counting?
  • sea salt to taste
  • pepper to taste

If you’re using spaghetti squash, which we did, prep it and bake it until done.  This will be the most taxing part of the evening’s meal.  Everything else is fast and easy.

Grill, fry, or broil your steak to the desired doneness you prefer.  We grilled ours with minimum of seasoning (salt and pepper) until it was medium rare.  Cut up tomatoes, onion, garlic, and basil in a large mixing bowl.  Once steak is done, let it cool slightly and dice it up.  Place it in the large bowl with the tomato mixture.  Drizzle the vinegar and oil over it, tasting it.  Add more vinegar if you need to.  Add the salt and pepper.   Serve this over the cooked spaghetti squash in shallow bowls.   Muy delishioso!

Recipe courtesy of Paleo Table.

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-02-05 at 12.33.38 PM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Steak + Bruschetta = Heaven

  1. This recipe looks so good, I have had many brushetta’s but none like this. If your looking for a great beer to pair with this, then follow my blog for the best

  2. Nana says:

    OMG! Just made this..,..sooooooo delish.

Leave a Reply

