A New Pastime – Geocaching!

I have heard about Geocaching for quite some time now, and since I have acquired a smart phone, I thought now would be the time to try it!

So, Biff and I went out to Moon Rocks and stomped around for a while.  My “smart” phone was not very smart, as I couldn’t get a very strong signal out there.  (Reason Number 1 to invest in a new, shiny GPS unit.)

As you can tell from the pictures, we had a grand ole time.  It was a beautiful day out here in the Sierra Nevadas, and it was so nice to get out of the house and enjoy some sunshine, even if it was a little cloudy.

I am sure by now, most of you are wondering what geocaching is!  I would call it treasure hunting for adults.  You get coordinates on the website and then you go find your cache.  Once you found it, you log your name and date in the logbook inside, and then once you get home you log it on your account through the same website.  Simple as that.  See, why I like it is I can keep track of things.  Why Biff likes it is because he can search for stuff that no one else knows about.

I love keeping track of things!

This entry was posted in Geocaching. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A New Pastime – Geocaching!

  1. Fae says:

    I have some other friends on the east coast that do this all the time. I always thought that it sounded like fun. Maybe Mr. Fae and I will try this soon….

  2. Farie says:

    I have always wanted to try this, I just don’t want to do it by myself. Maybe it’s a good reason to buy Hubby a GPS?

  3. fredr1c says:

    Congratulations on becoming a geocacher. Be warned, though…you’re likely to find geocaching mighty addictive. 🙂

  4. Her Nibsness was given a GPS to do this, but we haven’t tried in years. Do you want to borrow her GPS?

Leave a Reply

