“Getting to know you, getting to know all about you…” Well actually, all about me…

We at Idiosyncrazies decided that we would start to share ourselves at a deeper level, if you will. Hopefully, what you find out about us won’t turn you away from our postings, but only endear us to you on a greater level. So we decided that we would answer the following questions, knowing that you are all just dying to know these (mostly) little known facts about us. Here goes…

Question numero uno: Were you named after anyone?

Even I wasn’t right about this one. You see, my Mom immigrated here from Germany when she was in her tweens, and became a great lover of American pop culture. I think she was Audrey Hepburn’s biggest fan. Whenever, she would refer to my name it was always included in a sentence that had something to do with “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”, so I guess I assumed that is how I was named. However, that was only coincidence.

My Mother shared with me that she named me after a character in a book that she read (She doesn’t remember the title). She said she loved the character of the book and that my father had no say in the matter. My middle name was given to me out of affection for my Grandmother’s favorite sister. Amazingly, I never knew my Grandmother had a sister. My mother said that I could tell people that I was named after the movie, but that just doesn’t seem right. However, I would never turn away a baby blue gift box. Ever.

2013.2.25 Tiffany and Co Audrey H

P.S. I didn’t see “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” until I was well into my 30’s (it was difficult to locate Turner Classics on my cable network, what can I say), and I have to admit, I was a bit disappointed that I was named after such a depressing movie, about two rather self-destructive people finding each other in the end. And the cat. God, did a bawl like a baby. Now, thankfully, I am a bit relieved.

Question numero dos: When was the last time I cried?

Well, at certain times, there can be quite a lag in between crying jags. That being said, the last time I cried was at church this past Sunday, while being caught up in the music. Before that it was the day before, when I was listening to a You Tube video, of a young boy calling into a christian radio station, sharing that God has a purpose for everything. Before that, it was the Anheiser Busch Clydesdale commercial during the Super Bowl. Find this hard to believe? Weep, I mean, see below…just make sure you have a tissue.

http://youtu.be/zCdZwitrNoY

http://youtu.be/wPG7PcI67dE

Question numero tres: Do you like your handwriting?

Yes, on most days I do. I have a job which requires much paperwork, and lots of signatures, so it became evident that I had to shorten my signature, as my “perfect” signature took too much time. However, there are days when I can’t even read my handwriting. On days like that, I don’t like it so much. This is when typing tends to come in handy. As a scrapbooker, I have learned to embrace the font!

Favorite font

Question numero quatro: What is your favorite lunchmeat?

Well, first of all, I became a Paleo-nut in September, so I don’t eat sandwiches anymore. But, if I could only have one sandwich, (and it is possible that I might succumb sometime this summer) it would have to a be a BLT with a fresh, juicy homegrown tomato and crunchy lettuce and a grainy bread that has a generous layer of mayonnaise.

But, I don’t really think that bacon qualifies as a lunchmeat (thank the good Lord above that it is a Paleo approved meat). So, if I really had to choose a lunchmeat, then it would probably have to be a yummy pastrami (please don’t leave out the sauerkraut and swiss…).

BLT sandwich

Question numero cinco: Do you have kids?

No, but my quiver is full.

I didn’t have any biological children, that is…this just wasn’t God’s plan for me. However, he gave me children in spades…. K and T were the children gifted to me when I married Hubby. Munch was gifted to me by God and circumstance nearly 5 years ago. I don’t even remember what life was like without her.Kristina

K

Tyler Moore

T

Adria

Munch and Sharpie

We also have the following furry and feathered family members:

2 dogs, Tucker and Isabel; 3 cats, Jinx, Jr, and Lexi; 2 horses, Gigi and Jazyrah; 2 turkeys, Brad and Urban; two Nubian goats, Prim and Sharpie and nearly two dozen chickens.

I also am blessed to work with children and young adults every day at my job, which I love. I like to think of them as my kids, too.

So, that’s my 5 questions answered. Pretty extra-ordinary stuff…not very surprising if you’ve been reading our blog post for the past year or so. Unless you count the unknown sister of my Grandmother…hmm, I guess I better get that Ancestry.com account.

Until the next installment of “Getting to know Us”, Auf Wiedersehen!

About Farie

I am a country girl that recently came home after 15 years of "city" living. At the age of 40, I got a horse and fell in love with a little girl my husband and I adopted. I love to cook, read, run, garden and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

