Black Olive Salsa. Oh yeah, baby.

IMG_3861

My middle name is Salsa.  You don’t believe me?  Would I lie to you?

I was sent this recipe in such a round about way, it’s funny.  One of my co-bloggers, Farie, was sending me daily updates on her Whole30 detox month of January.  Oh, yes, she did detox for a whole month but that is for her tell you about.

Anyhoo…

At the bottom of one of these chatty daily updates were links to various blog sites including the site that listed this recipe.  I tucked it back in the whirling vortex of recipes that I shouldn’t forget to try folder in my brain.  Two days I ago, I remembered it and that in and of itself is worthy of a blog post.  Me?  Remember anything?  Yikes.

I printed it out….made sure I had the ingredients and set out to make this delicious sounding, Paleo approved, salsa.  Side note here.  There are some pretty strong aromas at work here, so if those don’t bother you, say, around 7am, go for it.  Otherwise, anchovies and I don’t get along that early in the day.  It was a tough morning but I slogged through it.

I’m a giver that way.

Let’s start, shall we?

IMG_3841

Begin by chopping up the shallot, place that into a small bowl and pour the Champagne vinegar on top.  Let it set for 10 minutes while you chop up more things.IMG_3844

Finely dice the garlic and chop anchovies.  Mix together in a small bowl until a paste forms.  You can use a mortar and pestle if you have one.IMG_3848 IMG_3849 IMG_3850

Strain the shallot, reserving the vinegar.  In a medium bowl, combine the shallot, anchovy-garlic paste, olives, capers, chiles, lemon zest and it’s juice, olive oil, and cilantro.IMG_3857 IMG_3858

Add the salt and season to taste with reserved vinegar.  Serve immediately or refrigerate in an airtight container for up to one week.

Black Olive Salsa

  • 1 small shallot, finely chopped
  • 2 T Champagne vinegar
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 1.5 T finely chopped olive oil packed anchovies
  • 2 cups pitted and coarsely chopped black olives
  • 1/4 cup salt packed capers, rinsed and chopped
  • 2 Serrano chiles, halved, seeded and finely chopped. Note:  I started with one, tasted the salsa when done and then added the second chile.  Never can be too sure about the heat.
  • 1 medium lemon, zested and juiced
  • 1 cup EVOO; I thought that this was too much.  Next time I’ll cut it back to 3/4 cup.
  • 1/2 bunch cilantro, leaves only, finely chopped
  • 2 t sea salt

Method:

In a small bowl, combine the shallot and Champagne vinegar and set aside for 10 minutes.

In a small bowl, mash the garlic and anchovies together to form a paste.

Strain the shallot, reserving the vinegar.  In a medium bowl, combine the shallot, anchovy-garlic paste, olives, capers, chiles, lemon zest and it’s juice, olive oil, and cilantro.  Add the salt and season to taste with the reserved vinegar.

It’s pretty good ‘salsa’.  I can see this spread on steak or some type of white fish.  Of course, you can scoop up a bit of it on crackers, too!

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-02-23 at 7.43.48 AM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Black Olive Salsa. Oh yeah, baby.

  1. Mr. Fae says:

    2 thumbs up, enjoyed it very much!!

  2. Fannie says:

    Sounds delish…and of course, your original salsa is still our favorite…in fact, I have the ingredients for it in the fridge…may have to do this one instead…

  3. snati001 says:

    Looks really good! I love olives and never thought to make it the star in a salsa. Gotta try this 🙂

  4. Farie says:

    Yummy!

Leave a Reply

