Joy the Baker’s Cornmeal Molasses Pancakes with Blackberry Vanilla Sauce

I don’t bake.  Usually.  I mean, I can. I just normally don’t.  If I want baked goods, I go to the Mexican bakery down the street and load up.  When I was younger, and I would complain that I was bored, my mom would encourage me to bake something, so I am pretty sure I thought of it as punishment rather than pleasure.

My New Cookbook!

My New Cookbook!

Then I heard about Joy the Baker. I actually don’t know much about her personally, but heard her recipes were fairly easy, and very delicious.  So I put her cookbook on my Paperbackswap.com Wish List, and I got it in the mail on Friday!  (After MONTHS of waiting. Of course.) On Sunday, I had all day to kill, so I decided to make something special for breakfast.  I also happened to have fresh blackberries in the fridge, so I thought I could use ’em up and make something delicious for breakfast.  (I was hoping for the scones, but Biff wanted pancakes. This was our compromise.  Well, not really.  I gave in apparently.  Damn him and his sneaky sexiness for affecting my will power!)

Cornmeal Molasses Pancakes with Blackberry Vanilla Sauce

Yields 12 pancakes; recipe from Joy the Baker cookbook  (Sheayah, right.  12 pancakes.  And monkeys might fly outta my butt.  This made 6 pancakes of smallish size.)

Ingredients:

PANCAKE BATTER

1 large egg
1 1/4 cups buttermilk
1 Tablespoon unsulfured molasses
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup cornmeal

BLACKBERRY VANILLA SAUCE

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract (she used real vanilla bean, but who has time for that?)
1 heaping cup fresh blackberries
1/3 cup water
2 Tablespoons sugar
Pinch of salt

My ingredients.  Would you believe I had all of this on hand!?!?

My ingredients. Would you believe I had all of this on hand!?!?

Instructions:

  1. To make the batter, whisk together egg, buttermilk, molasses, vanilla, and melted butter in a small bowl. Set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder. Add the buttermilk mixture to the dry ingredients. Stir. Add the cornmeal and stir until combined. The mixture should be a little lumpy. Set aside.
The (not so lumpy in my opinion) batter

The (not so lumpy in my opinion) batter

  1. Begin making the sauce: In a small sauce pan warm the berries, vanilla, water, sugar and salt over medium low heat. Cook for 6-8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat.
YUMMY!  Who doesn't love fruit and sugar?

YUMMY! Who doesn’t love fruit and sugar?

  1. Heat a skillet or griddle with 1 Tablespoon of butter or oil. Once hot, drop 2 Tablespoons of pancake batter on the griddle. When bubbles begin to appear, carefully flip the pancakes. Cook until the bottoms are golden.
  2. Serve with warm Blackberry Vanilla sauce and a sprinkling of powdered sugar (optional).
Breakfast.  Is served.

Breakfast. Is served.

This picture does NOT do the meal justice.  It looks pretty sloppy.  Like I just plopped it on a plate.  Which I pretty much did.  But it was good!

This picture does NOT do the meal justice. It looks pretty sloppy. Like I just plopped it on a plate. Which I pretty much did. But it was good!

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Joy the Baker’s Cornmeal Molasses Pancakes with Blackberry Vanilla Sauce

  1. Farie says:

    Looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

