Bakin’ Bacon

IMG_4076In the past month, I’ve been doing this while I’ve had friends/family over.  Each time, someone is surprised that I cook bacon like this.  It’s not as though I’ve always done it like this, this is a recent thing, maybe a year now?  But it is the BEST way to cook bacon.  There is no grease splatter, no messy pans to scrub up, no grease burns on my fingers, and flat bacon.

Is is just me that likes flat bacon?  I’ve never really enjoyed curly bacon at all.  I think it must be my OCD that likes flat bacon.  I’ve always admired bacon that is whisked out to you in a restaurant for breakfast and it’s flat.  I’m weird that way.

So here is the incredibly easy, no muss, no fuss way to cook bacon in the oven.

Do yourself a favor:  if you live in a town that has a Whole Foods, go there and buy this kind of bacon.  You will thank me.  In fact, today (!) it’s on sale for $4.99; stock up!IMG_4054

Grab a rimmed baking sheet and line it with foil.  IMG_4052

Lay out your bacon side by side.  Don’t they look cute?  It’s ok if they touch, just don’t crowd them.IMG_4057

Crank up your oven to 375˚ and put them in for 10 minutes.IMG_4063 IMG_4060  At the 10 minute mark, flip them over.  IMG_4064This next part will be individualization for you.  If you happen to have thick cut bacon, you’ll need to cook it a bit longer OR if you do not trust the temperature in your oven, you will need to account for it by watching it the last few minutes.  Some folks like floppy bacon, so cook it less than what I do.  Oh, and that is 7 minutes!  Total time cooking 17 minutes for this bacon and my oven temp.IMG_4066

See?  Purdy, right?

I don’t let them sit in the grease but let them drain on a paper towel.

Clean up is easy….pour the grease into your discard-oil container unless you need to save some for cooking, then pour it into your glass jar but let the grease cool a bit before you do that.IMG_4071

Throw away the aluminum foil and all you have is a slightly greased baking pan.  1,2,3 cleanup is a snap.

I cook the whole package and let my husband grab what he needs for his breakfast protein.

I hope you enjoy Bakin’ Bacon now!

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-03-20 at 6.57.25 PM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bakin’ Bacon

  1. Anonymous says:

    It is a Great treat to go with my eggs and avocado breakfast!!!! Add a little homemade salsa and my breakfast shake(veges and a little fruit) and I am golden!! Thanks Love

Leave a Reply

