The sign never changes

Many of you know that each summer for decades we travel to the Grand Tetons and to Yellowstone for a family vacation.  What you may not know is that with my extremely strong will and determination, I force my family for a traditional photo in Yellowstone.  My son has managed (I don’t know how) to miss several photo ops; I think one time he said he had menstrual cramps.  Other times, we have had non-family members join in the picture taking.  And then even other times we’ve had new to the photo op and new to the family pictures taken.

Here is what I have.  Now there may have been photos taken but they are lost to history and my aversion to going through pounds of film negatives.  Uh huh, won’t do it.

The very first one, 1993

The very first one, 1993

Yep, they're growing. 1997

Yep, they’re growing. 1995

With cousins, 1997

With cousins, 1997

With a girlfriend.  Cutting out the photos was quite 'the thing' in scrapbooking back then. 1999

With a girlfriend. Cutting out the photos was quite ‘the thing’ in scrapbooking back then. 1999

Yep, my son is missing in this one.

Another girlfriend and still missing our son. 2000

Another girlfriend and still missing our son. 2000

And who is this new face? 2001

And who is this new face? 2001

That would be our son’s girlfriend who had never traveled here before.  Perfect!  I can get all three of them with the sign!!  (new love and all that!)

And just what the hell had I been doing between 2001 and 2007?  Beats me, but no photo here was taken.

And another new face and new love. 2007

And another new face and new love. 2007

And with the advent of a wedding followed a few years later by a birth….et voila!

This little snookie wookie pookums adorable baby is the first grandchild! 2008

This little snookie wookie pookums adorable baby is the first grandchild! 2008

This was the first digital scrapbook page of our vacation!  Woot!!

In one year, she grew this much.  In height not hair. 2009

In one year, she grew this much. In height not hair. 2009

In 2010 we added two more adorable baby faces to the signage.

In 2010 we added two more adorable baby faces to the signage.

oh my…

There's a hand on baby number 4. 2011

There’s a hand on baby number 4. 2011

This deserves a full page. 2012

This deserves a full page. 2012

As does this one!

These little darlings hold my heart in their little hands. 2012

These little darlings hold my heart in their little hands. 2012

Now I know you’ll say, but the sign does change.  Obviously, between 2000 and 2001, the sign got RE-painted.  If you look on the ‘U’, you’ll see the same deterioration year after year on that one letter.  And we always snap the picture at the same sign location next to Old Faithful Inn.  Each year, my son groans to do this.  But truthfully?  I think that he is coming to enjoy looking back now that he can track his own children’s growth by way of that one sign.

I just wish that I would have taken and saved photos of those missing years…..

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-03-14 at 5.21.51 PM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Family, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

