Chewy Granola Bars

IMG_4601

One of the things that is a constant around here is Mr. Fae’s hunger.  He is a huge CrossFit worker-outer (really?  English major we ain’t) and his hunger can get the best of him sometimes.  When those hunger pangs hit, watch out!  He becomes like a great white shark circling the kitchen in hopes of a stray arm hanging around or if not that, something to eat RIGHT NOW.  I made some ‘power’ bars awhile back that he loved consisting of dates and dark chocolate.  They were not huge on my hit list but he liked them.  Because of that, I looked a little deeper for some bars that he could grab when he got home instead of hoovering through the refrigerator.

I found these.

I liked them so well that the next time I make them, he has to take them to work with him.  I don’t want them in the house because they remind me in taste of those Magic Cookie Bars made with sweetened condensed milk.  And that?  That is my food weakness.  Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk.  I could go into paroxysms of melting goodness on the kitchen floor, spoon in hand, eating out of the can.  Mmmmmm.

Hm?  What?  Where am I?

Oh, ok…here it is.  And I have a confession to make as well.  As I gathered all the ingredients, I realized that I didn’t have two ‘Paleo’ approved ingredients.  I had  ‘other’ things; regular, sweetened coconut and Hersey’s mini chocolate chips.  I had used my unsweetened coconut on the last batch of goodies for Mr. Fae and I didn’t have dark chocolate chips.  Let alone, MINI chocolate chips.  So, I’m pretty sure that this is half-assed Paleo.

Don’t judge me.  I tried.

Anyway…here it is in all it’s Semi Paleo glory.  And boy, is it delish!

Gather all the goodies..

IMG_4580

And let’s begin.

Grab the flax seed and water to combine.  Let this sit while you move through the next several steps.  It will look gross, like this:

IMG_4584

Put the pumpkin seeds (pepitas) into a mini chopper if you have one.  I used the food processor and it was a bit of overkill on my part.  My seeds looked mutant by the time I was done.

IMG_4586Next, in a medium bowl mix together the flax gooperroo, coconut oil (and I still want to call it cocoMat oil. Thanks, Fannie, for that) almond butter, honey and vanilla.  IMG_4587Mix this well.  (Well? Good?  No, use well in this instance. Always gets me.)  Then mix the almond flour and baking soda to combine.  Add the slivered almonds, shredded coconut, pepitas, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, and chocolate chips (dried fruit) to combine.  If you can’t find dark chocolate mini chips, just buy a chunk of dark chocolate and pulse a few times in the food processor.IMG_4589In the original recipe, the ingredient lists SLICED almonds, but in the method, the cook refers to SLIVERED almonds.  When in doubt or flying by the seat of your pants as I was, use both totalling  1.5 cups.  It worked out just fine.

Spoon all of this into a 9×13 greased pan and cook at 325˚ for 22-23 minutes.

IMG_4590IMG_4592

They will puff up a bit during the baking process so when you remove them from the oven, just smoosh them down with a spatula and let cool.

IMG_4595

Like I said, very yummy.  And next time instead of the chocolate, I will use dried fruit.  I got suckered in with the ‘chocolate’ energy bar thing.  I really don’t think the word energy should be used here…more like sugar rush would be better.  And that’s something to avoid.

Chewy Granola Bars

1.5 cups sliced/slivered almonds

2 cups shredded unsweetened coconut

1/3 cup raw sunflower seeds

1/3 cup raw pepitas

1 T brown sesame seeds

1/2 cup almond flour

1/3 cup extra virgin coconut oil, melted

1/4 cup unsweetened almond butter

1/4 cup local honey

1 t vanilla extract

3/4 t baking soda

1 T flaxseed meal

1.5 T water

3/4 cup mini dark chocolate chips or dried fruit

Preheat oven to 325˚ and grease a 9×13 baking pan with coconut oil/spray

In a medium bowl mix the flaxseed and water.  Let set a few minutes.  Pulse the pepitas in a small chopper until seeds are more the size of sunflower seeds.  Add the coconut oil, almond butter, honey, and vanilla to the flax seed mixture and mix well.  Combine the almond flour and baking soda.  Then add all the remaining ingredients together and combine.  Spoon batter into the baking pan.   Spread it all out and press down with the palm of your hand.  Bake for 22-23 minutes or until golden brown.  Let cool completely and then cut into bars.  Store in refrigerator.

recipe courtesy of The Paleo Mom.

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-03-23 at 2.22.20 PM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

