How can it be? Healthy Mounds Bars?

IMG_4770

When I was in high school, I was dating a person who, for one Christmas, bought me a case of Mounds candy bars.  I loved it; my hips didn’t.  Mounds candy bars are my most favorite of all candy bars followed closely by Snickers.  Paleo eating doesn’t allow for the un-Godly amounts of sugar that these bars have.  So it came as a surprise when I was bored and trolling for a Mounds fix only to find that a paleo version is out there.

I debated making these for about six months.  What if it were a dismal failure and my hopes of biting into a Mounds bar is squished like a bug on a car’s windshield?  What if they were so delicious that they didn’t even last until Mr. Fae got home from work?

What if…..

A late afternoon appointment sealed the deal for me.  I could make them before the appointment; refrigerate them and then arrive home about the same time as Mr. Fae.  He would tell me the truth.  They would be either good or not so much and he would look me straight in the eye and ….lie.

If they were good, he’d tell me they weren’t and eat them all by himself.  If they were bad, he would say, “Meh.” and I would be heartbroken and throw them down the disposal bereft that I spent the money on broken dreams.

What to do, what to do….

Ok, ya got me.  I made them and it’s super easy too.  Look at the bright, happy faces here:

IMG_4753

The instructions were to blend the coconut oil and unsweetened coconut in the food processor until the mixture starts to meld and hold together.  I tasted it when I thought it was melded and then added a little more coconut nectar.

IMG_4754

I processed them about 4 minutes.  You can do the next step several different ways.  I chose to use a pan I bought at Michael’s in their candy making section a while back.  You could also line an 8 x 8 inch pan with waxed paper and then top the filling with the chocolate mixture.  The recipe also states that you could just refrigerate the coconut mixture and then cut into desired shapes followed by dipping them into the melted chocolate, much like the original candy bars themselves.  Too much work on that one for me.

IMG_4756

Mounds rounds AND Almond Joy rounds.  I’m nothing if not thoughtful!  Personally, I prefer the straight on Mounds…no almonds to distract me.

Melting the chocolate, coconut oil and vanilla creme took all of 90 seconds in the microwave.  I prefer a more sweet dark chocolate taste so I added about 20 drops of the vanilla creme Stevia and two tablespoons of the nectar.  Yummos.

IMG_4758

Once it was all melted, I just spooned it over the rounds and popped them into the refrigerator to harden up.

IMG_4760

Here is the handy, dandy recipe to print out to use.

By the way, I only made a half of a batch from this recipe and it made 24 rounds.  The listing below is for a full batch.

4 cups grated unsweetened chocolate

1/2 cup melted coconut oil

2-4 T coconut nectar

Roasted whole almonds

1.5 cups dark chocolate

1 T coconut oil

(additional Stevia and nectar if you like it sweet)

In a food processor, put the filling ingredients in and process for several minutes.  Taste for sweetness, adding nectar by tablespoons, tasting after each addition.  The nectar is very sweet…and sticky!

Use whatever pan as described above and pour the filling into it.  If you’re using almonds, press those in at this time as well.

Place into refrigerator to harden.

Melt the chocolate and coconut oil in measuring cup in microwave.  Individual tastes will determine if you want to add the vanilla creme and/or additional nectar.

Spoon melted chocolate over filling.  Store in air tight container or in the freezer.  Hide them behind the frozen chicken breasts.

IMG_4765

Bon appetit!

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-04-07 at 5.25.12 PM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How can it be? Healthy Mounds Bars?

  1. Farie says:

    So, does Mr. Fae like them? Perhaps you can bring those to NSD? HInt, hint….

  2. Fae says:

    Mr. Fae loves them, as does Chris, McKenna, Olivia, and Camden! Score!

Leave a Reply

