Breakfast ‘muffins’

Anyone who has to deal with time management, jobs, and children all know that in the mornings, time just slips away.  Before you know it, it’s time to get out that front door or be late.  Homework not done?  Tell the teacher the dog ate it.  Running late for an early business meeting?  Starving and your stomach is growling enough to make your neighbors think you got another dog?  We all run out of time in the mornings and the last thing we want to think about is cooking a meal.

That is what makes this such a great idea and it’s a do-ahead!  We had our niece over the other evening.  She had to catch an early (6am!) flight meaning she had to leave our house at 5am.  Could I get up and fix her some type of breakfast, say around 4:30am?  Uh huh.  No way, no how.  What I did was have some of these on hand for her to heat up in the microwave.  Filling and tasty, all at once.  Here..have these and have a nice flight!

So next time you’re thinking of grabbing a box of cereal to pour for yourself or your kids, this is much tastier and much more healthy for you.  You will thank me, pinky promise.

IMG_5246

I added mushrooms at the last minute so they aren’t shown here. Nor is the salt and pepper. Or the glass of wine I was drinking at the time.

 

Very few ingredients, right?  You don’t line the muffin tins with paper liners but you do spray it generously with cooking spray otherwise the eggs have a tendency to stick to the bottom.

I used some thick sliced bacon here and I wouldn’t do that again.  It took longer to get that done while the eggs were already set and done.  Just use regular bacon and put it into rings in each cup.IMG_5247

Then chop up whatever veggies you want.  I used a combination of spinach and bell peppers.  You do not need much of either.

IMG_5248

Once you have all the veggies you want in there, whip up the eggs.  Originally, I thought one egg per cup but that was too much what with the veggies taking up space.  For 12 muffin cups, I ended up using 8 eggs.  My muffin cup is an oldie but goodie.  If you happen to have one of those monster size muffin cups, you’ll need to adjust accordingly.  Pour the eggs in and use a bit of sea salt and ground pepper on top.

IMG_5253

And this is what you’ll have for breakfast Monday through Friday of next week.  Or just Monday if Mr. Fae sees it.

IMG_5311

 

Here is the easy as pie, er, um…easy as muffins recipe.

Breakfast Muffins

Assorted vegetables of your choice;  spinach, bell peppers, mushrooms, green onion, tomatoes, kale, whatever.  But make sure that you dice them up small or in the case of the mushrooms, sliced thin.  For mine, I used ONE mushroom (2 inches wide) for 12 muffin cups.

Eggs; dependent on your muffin cup size

Bacon, not thick sliced

Cooking spray, salt and pepper

Dice up all the veggies you want.  Line the sides of the muffin cups with your bacon.  Place veggies into the cup, top with beaten eggs, salt and pepper.  I ended up cooking mine for 20 minutes to get the bacon done and the eggs to set.

Bon Appetit!

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-05-01 at 4.45.19 PM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Paleo approved and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breakfast ‘muffins’

  1. Fannie says:

    Oh Fae, you have done it again! And, here I thought I was Miss Smarty Pants back in the day when I made my kids “homemade” Egg McMuffins! Can’t wait to try these…at home AND the next time I’m called to provide caregiver services…be it my mom’s or Culver’s House of Sweetness!

Leave a Reply

