Recipe RX

IMG_5366

Have you ever read a recipe and said, ‘Jeez, that sounds good’ or maybe ‘that would be a quick and easy dinner’ or even, ‘I’m so tired, I just want something filling and FAST!’  Yeah, that was me a couple of weeks ago.  I found the following recipe and had all the ingredients so I thought, why not?

Why not, indeed.

Shoulda, woulda, coulda.

If I had only read the directions before I starting the cooking, I’m certain some alarms would have started ringing.

And all of this brings me to a new chapter here on Idiosyncrazies.  It’s called Recipe RX.  A prescription, if you will, to fix a recipe that just doesn’t quite fill the bill.

Like this one.

I asked my fellow bloggers what they could do if it were left up to them to tweak this recipe and make it their own.  The rules are that they can’t subtract ingredients from the original but they certainly can ADD to the ingredients and directions.  Next week they will be showing off their versions of this recipe.

In the meantime, here is the original in all it’s sad glory.

Ingredients:

1 T cooking fat

1/2 yellow onion, diced

1 lb ground meat

1-2 cloves of garlic

2 T dried oregano

2 medium (6″-8″) zucchini, diced

2 medium tomatoes, diced

1/2 t sea salt, optional

Instructions:

Wash and prepare vegetables.  Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add cooking fat when hot.  Add onions to skillet and saute’ until slightly translucent.  Quickly roll meat into balls and add them to the pan next, along with the garlic and oregano.  Cook 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Add zucchini and tomatoes and cook until tender.  Season with salt if desired.

Seems simple enough, right?  But then, in reflection, did they really mean to roll the meat alone or to put the garlic and oregano into the meat and then roll into balls?  See, to me, it wasn’t written correctly if they meant it to be combined.  Anyway, taste was lacking.  As is, I would NEVER use this recipe again.  EVAH!

But then, I love a cooking challenge and so do my cohorts.

I know now how I would tweak this but I’m not giving away my ideas.  I am eager to see what they come up with next week.  Stay tuned, ok?

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-05-06 at 6.15.36 AM

 

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

