The Oregon Trail

Or at least my version of it.

otmap1843

Apparently, I started my trip in Mexico.  I never once saw any of those forts.

Early last month I traveled to Oregon to be with my fellow bloggers and scrapbookers for a weekend of girlfriend bliss.  You know the kind where jammies are required all day long?  No makeup?  No bras?  No men?  Alcohol?

Yeah…one of those weekends.  We scrapbooked to our hearts content.  We ate new food from recipes we love; we visited; we commiserated, and most importantly we laughed like fools.  Or hyenas.  I get it confused sometimes.

But while I was prepping for my trip (don’t even get me started on how little I pack to scrapbook), I thought that this would be a fun idea to do.

And then I forgot I had these photos on my camera.  Doh!

Anyways….Here is my version of the Oregon Trail.  I not only was main driver (the ONLY driver.  Hell, I was the only one in the car!) but I was navigator as well.

Strap in and hold on.

Crap!  Very first photo and I screw up not getting the 'Welcome to California' sign.

Crap! Very first photo and I screw up not getting the ‘Welcome to California’ sign.  But, hey!  Welcome to Sierra County line.

Did you know that very few people use the term ‘bug station’ when referring to the California Inspection stations?  I’ve used it before and if you’re not from around here, you have no idea what I’m talking about.  Or…I really DON’T know what I’m talking about.

It could happen.

Bug station ahead.  And look!  My windows are still clean.

Bug station ahead. And look! My windows are still clean.

And this area will mark the highway closing down to two lanes.  Two. Lanes.  And I won’t see a four lane highway for hours.

It only took 5 hours to reach Susanville.  Ok, it FELT like five hours.

It only took 5 hours to reach Susanville. Ok, it FELT like five hours.

Once through this bustling metropolis, I’ll need to turn.  Left…I’ll need to turn left…somewhere right after Susanville.  Don’t ask me the highway numbers.  I’ll recognize it somehow.  This is how I navigate.

Except for that one time I turned down a logging road.  That was a bad choice.

Here!  Turn here! Turn RIGHT here!

Here! Turn here! Turn RIGHT here!

Because it was a beautiful clear day, I knew I was going to see the volcanoes as I drove by.

If you can see through the bug guts, that's Mt. Lassen. And yes, I'm driving AND taking photos.

If you can see through the bug guts, that’s Mt. Lassen. And yes, I’m driving AND taking photos.

Driving next to a cliff on my side.  Taking picturesque photographs…and my life in my hands!

Coming up on another turn…again, I’ll need to turn right.

I had to roll down the window to get this shot.  Couldn't see through the bug guts anymore.

I had to roll down the window to get this shot. Couldn’t see through the bug guts anymore.

Thankfully, California Dept. of Transportation helps me out with arrows and names.  I know that I will eventually pass by Mt. St. Helens.  No…that’s not it.  Mt. Shasta, so I turn here.

I’m going to have to get my ice scrapper out to tackle the bug guts soon.  I don’t recognize the towns on the signage, meaning, I usually don’t go through those towns when I head to Oregon, but who knows?

Could be a short cut.

See that logging truck?  You do not want to get behind one of those on these two lane roads.  I got behind one of those.

See that logging truck? You do not want to get behind one of those on these two lane roads. I got behind one of those.

There is no shortage of grasshoppers in northern California.

Burney Falls.  A little close to the edge here, aren't we Fae?

Burney Falls. A little close to the edge here, aren’t we Fae?

I know this Sign.  And if I wear an aluminum hat on my head, the aliens won’t grab me.

And yes, I pulled over to take this photo.  Please rest easy now.

If you hear the theme from 'Deliverance' there's a reason for it.

If you hear the theme from ‘Deliverance’ there’s a reason for it.

Yea!!  Another volcano.  I’m on the right road, unless it’s really Mauna Kea.

See logging truck ahead of 1960's van?  Very good drivers, both of them obeying the school speed zone.

See logging truck ahead of 1960’s van? Very good drivers, both of them obeying the school speed zone.

I pulled over to try to get a better shot of the beauty of Mt. Shasta.  Of course, who knew that I needed to 10 feet tall to capture that beauty and not just stand next to the car?

Lovely photo of documenting pine tree growth.

Lovely photo of documenting pine tree growth.

And here begins the metal sculpture part of our road trip.  A cow.  And, bonus…I’m almost in Oregon.

Since Beyonce is already taken (reference humor) what shall we call this bovine?

Since Beyonce is already taken (reference humor) what shall we call this bovine?

Well, of course I run into road construction turning my high speed four lane interstate race into a meander up into the Siskiyous coughing on the diesel exhaust.

This usually takes about 30 minutes, maybe, to hit the summit.  This time, it took four weeks.

This usually takes about 30 minutes, maybe, to hit the summit. This time, it took four weeks.

I almost missed the Welcome to Oregon sign.  Maybe there won’t be so many bugs once I hit the state line.

Now...on to the summit.

Now…on to the summit.

I always get a chuckle that this is the highest point on I-5 and the summit’s elevation is still lower than the elevation I live at.

No photos for the down side here...need to pay attention.

No photos for the down side here…need to pay attention.

Between the drivers who have never traveled down this road and the freight trucks going down hill, the remainder of the drive down is more of a pay-attention-or-you’ll-die road.  You’ll see huge tire marks all over the road so I pay really good attention.  I do not want to add to those marks, or worse yet, BE one of those marks.

The rest of the drive is totally uneventful…green, green, green.  And friends and wine at the end of a long drive.

love,

Fae

OCD strikes again.

OCD strikes again.

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Oregon Trail

  1. Farie says:

    OMG, the fact that you can find humor in THAT trip is impressive! You can blog anything! You’re my hero!

  2. Fannie says:

    I gotta give it to ya, girl, I’m with Farie; I won’t say this drive between Fort Reno and Fort Medford is “boring” (except I have done some versions of it at least 2,976 times), but well, ya got nothin’. Aside from the grandeur of Mt. Shasta, the anticipation of the metal cow and now Dragon (you missed the picture of the Dragon! Puff, of course) is about all that pulls you in either direction. However, YOU made it entertaining. Your creative writing teacher would be very, very proud.

  3. Fae says:

    thank you, both of you. I did see Puff, which is relatively new, but it’s the cow I always laugh at. And I really want to call her Beyonce. My creative writing teacher is a ‘friend’ of mine on facebook. HE writes for Variety. Yikes.

Leave a Reply

