Summer Shrimp Salad

IMG_6707

Continuing on with my love affair with shellfish (ahem) I went searching for shrimp dishes and crab dishes.  Imagine how I felt when I found this!  Shrimp and crab were the two things that we didn’t have while in the Pacific Northwest.  We did stop at a small local store, Hama Hama Oysters located on the Hood Canal, for lunch.  timthumb

What a terrific find!  It was there that we saw the largest dungeness crabs we’ve ever seen.  The store is part store and part processing area.  There are three or four deep sinks with continual running water in all of them.  And added entertainment bonus…crabs in the sinks trying to escape.  One of the workers told us that they have been getting some of the largest crabs, up to four pounds, lately.

Ding! Ding! Ding!

We haven’t had any crabs OR shrimp on this trip!  What gives?

Once we returned home and ate the last of the oysters we brought with us it was time to find me some shrimp.  And some crab.

“Anyway, like I was sayin’, shrimp is the fruit of the sea. You can barbecue it, boil it, broil it, bake it, saute it. Dey’s uh, shrimp-kabobs, shrimp creole, shrimp gumbo. Pan fried, deep fried, stir-fried. There’s pineapple shrimp, lemon shrimp,coconut shrimp, pepper shrimp, shrimp soup, shrimp stew, shrimp salad, shrimp and potatoes, shrimp burger, shrimp sandwich. That- that’s about it.”

Bubba got me thinking about some shrimp salad.  Or better yet, shrimp and crab salad.

And I found this, the foundation of what I made and then tweaked to my satisfaction.

Class photo:IMG_6698

So simple and so easy.  I buy a pound of cooked, frozen small shrimp and an 8 ounce jar of lump or claw crab.  Please don’t be like me the first time.  I bought a tin of crab….just regular crab and when I opened the can, it was disgraceful.  The crab was in tiny shreds and did not have a great taste.  This time I bought a jar of crab claw and WOW…what a difference in taste and texture.  You will also notice that I’ve used sour cream so consider this a lacto-paleo recipe.

Rinse and drain the seafood.  I let mine sit after draining for about 10 minutes while I take care of the rest of the ingredients.  This will allow any of the frozen shrimp to thaw and drip out.  Chop up the onions and the celery.  Grate the eggs and add the dill weed.  Don’t be stingy on that herb.  It adds such a great flavor to the over all dish.  Salt and pepper it.  In a small bowl add the sour cream and mayo together mixing well.  Then add that to the shrimp/crab mixture.  Taste for either additional salt or pepper.  Serve over a bed of mixed lettuces and you are good to go!

I would add that I have found a wonderful wine to go with this that can not be purchased except at the winery (boo hoo!)  Move over Roxy Ann Pinot Gris, you have been replaced with this:

IMG_6706

 

There will be some naysayers about this but I would tell them to try it.  Go the winery and taste it with an open mind.  After all, isn’t that what we did when we discovered this and drank it by the barrel?

better fetz

 

Shrimp and Crab Summer Salad

1 pound shelled, cooked shrimp (may be frozen at purchase)

8 ounces (or more depending on your love of crab)

2 hard boiled eggs, grated

1/2 cup chopped celery

4 Tablespoons sliced green onions

4 teaspoons dried dill weed

1/2 cup homemade mayonnaise

1/3 cup sour cream

In a large bowl add all ingredients except the mayo and the sour cream.  In a separate bowl mix the mayo and sour cream together.  Add those to the shrimp mixture.  Taste for additional salt and pepper seasonings.  Serve over a bed of lettuce.

Love,

Fae

creative adult

 

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Paleo approved. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

