Bourbon Fudge

IMG_6927

One last tidbit from our vacation that I wanted to share with you.  On one of our last days away, we went wine tasting.  It was here that we were served this incredible fudge.  Well, not exactly this fudge because the owner wouldn’t part with the recipe.  She did give me hints and explanations of the fudge so that I could stumble across it if I really wanted it that badly.

I did want it badly.

She told me that the next time we were to be in the area, to call her and she’d make me a batch.

Batch?  We don’t need no batches!

I’ll make my own, thank you.

I will tell you that this fudge is absolutely wonderful with red wine.  I could have sat there drinking their wine and eating their fudge for the remainder of the day.  Ha!

As I surfed the net looking for the simple ingredients, I ran across many, many recipes for Bourbon Fudge, but not listing most of what she said and certainly not the amount of ingredients she said she used.  Four ingredients.  FOUR.

Oh, I so could do this.

Once home and still hankering for more fudge, my quest began.  I found what I thought would work.  I made it and whoa.  This is some good stuff!  It took longer to set up than I expected, in fact, it took over night before it was hard enough to cut into squares.  And it is so worth the wait.  I left out the nuts the original recipe had and replaced it with dried fruit that the winery owner did.

I am not a hard liquor drinker so when I was told it was Bourbon Fudge, well, my oh my.  I’m a believer now.  There is no hard bite of alcohol at all when you taste it.  It’s more of a whiff perhaps of something not usually found in fudge.  And the tiny bits of fruit just make it outstanding in my mind.  You could tinker with other dried fruits, raspberry perhaps? But this is what I had on hand.

IMG_6911You probably have all this on hand right now, don’t you?  What are you waiting for?  Christmas?

Grab a medium sauce pan and pour the sweetened condensed milk into the pan scrapping the side of the can to get all that wonderful milky goodness.  Then add the dark chocolate chips.  Stir with a spatula until completely melted.

Face plant time!

Face plant time!

Once it’s all melted add the bourbon and stir until it’s completely dissolved.  Then add the dried fruit of choice; mine were craisins.  IMG_6917You may want to process whatever fruit you do use until they become little, itty, bitty pieces.  These will delight your taste buds not overwhelm them.  See…like this.

IMG_6914

Make sure than you line an 8×8 pan with parchment paper.  This will allow you to remove the fudge easily from the pan onto your cutting board.  Unless, if you’re like me, I was ready to eat it out of the pan with a spoon all by myself.

It’s just that easy!

Bourbon Fudge

  • 1/2 cup Kentucky bourbon
  • 2 cups semi sweet chocolate morsels (12 ounce package)
  • 1/2 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 cup finely diced dried fruit

Pour milk and chocolate chips into medium saucepan and heat on low until chips are melted and combined with milk.  Stir until completely dissolved then add bourbon.  Stir until incorporated and then add dried fruit.

Pour into 8×8 pan lined with parchment paper and refrigerate until set.  Mine took overnight.

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-07-05 at 10.05.20 AM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bourbon Fudge

  1. Farie says:

    Yummy. I will have to give this a try sometime…I’m usually not a fan of fudge, but it sounds like it’s not too sweet?

Leave a Reply

