My Heritage

I belong to two Facebook groups both about growing up in my hometown in the 1960’s and 1970’s.  I laugh regularly reading the quips and comments from others belonging to these groups.  Many, many times these members post photos from that era that just make me drop my jaw.  I had forgotten so much of these areas, or building, or just things, that I’m amazed.

I realized that although most of what entertains me on those sites have all but disappeared from the Reno landscape now (and apparently from my memory as well!) that they are part and parcel of my history….my heritage.  From the photos posted that I have a connection to, I have made pages of them to put into our heritage album for our children to have.

Join me for a walk down memory lane.

Reno sawmill the waver Verdi Inn Ads Desert Boots green stamps Harolds Club reno arch helms pit Barney Sambos Film and flashLove,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-02-18 at 9.54.22 AM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Facebook, Scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Heritage

  1. Farie says:

    I loved this, Fae! The dessert shoes remind me of shoes that my sister wore in middle school…I think they called them wallabies?

  2. Jean says:

    I loved this walk down memory lane. My husband and I moved to Carson City in early 1975 right after we were married. I remember Ed Carlson’s smiling face and friendly waves. It’s nice to know where he is now.
    We had breakfast at that Sambo’s on our way to San Francisco for our honeymoon.
    Where I grew up, we called the boots chukka boots and the jeans had to be Seafarers which had no seam on the outside of the leg.
    And the Helms Pit…ick. But it does look better now than that big hole in the ground.

Leave a Reply

