Scenes

I love movies.  I love all kinds of movies:  Comedy, Drama, Romance, Thriller, but I’m not one to make movie night all about Slasher movies or Ax Murderer movies.  No sirree.  I love movies that I saw as a child and I love movies that are brand new on the screen.

With each movie that I fall in love with, specific scenes will play back in my brain when I think of them.

Who doesn’t think of Rhett Butler carrying Scarlett up that grand staircase?  Or her declaration kneeling in a dirt field, “as God as my witness….”

god as my

What plays back in your mind when you think of Close Encounters of the Third Kind?  Those billowing forming thunderclouds coming over the farmhouse to engulf that little boy?  Or when the supposed car parked in back of Roy Neary’s truck suddenly floats up in back of him on that dark road?  AND THE MUSIC!

roy

And when you see this scene what comes to mind?

find you

“I don’t know who you are, but I will look for you and I will find you and I will kill you.”  You don’t want to piss off Liam Neeson.

Well, all this is leading up to some of my favorite movie scenes and how my day dreaming went way out into the universe.  While we were vacationing in June we were at the Visitor’s Center in Olympic National Park.  We were surrounded by all these gorgeous mountains and it popped into my head that I should pose as Julie Andrews in Sound of Music.  Once I saw the photo…

One thing led to another.

From this

###IMAGE-DEPT

to this:

hills are alive

Pure sacrilege, isn’t it?  The Sound of Music has been a favorite of mine for decades!  (My apologies to Julie Andrews.  I was singing as well when this was taken.)

Another favorite movie of mine was Forrest Gump and in fact I paraphrased it here when talking about shrimp.

forrest gump bench

Let me tell you, all I had was the grandkid’s garden bench to replicate this.  And a very understanding husband who is upping my health insurance coverage to include stays at mental health hospitals.

forrest gump_edited-1

And last but not least, a movie that is in my top 10 to re-watch every year.  Joaquin Phoenix was phenomenal here.  His transformation from skepticism of ‘aliens’ nearby to trying anything to save his niece and nephew, including this:

foil hats

Do you know how much foil it takes to make one hat?

IMG_7037

Yes, that’s right.  I shamelessly exploited two of my grandchildren for this photo.  Trying to tell them to be serious and NOT to smile when a camera is pointing at them was an exercise in hilarity.  In all fairness, though, the others got foil hats as well.  But they still look like Hersey kisses to me instead of terrified-by-aliens kids.  They don’t even know what aliens are.

I was disappointed in that I couldn’t recreate one of my most favorite movies EVAH and that is the Wizard of Oz.  I mean, all I had to duplicate the flying monkeys were a stuffed Teddy Bear and a stuffed monster, Sully, from Monsters, Inc.  And to even use those, I would need Teddy Bear and Sully wranglers to toss out while I somehow took the photo. And then I would have to have the legalese stating that no Teddy Bears or Sullys were injured during the photo shoot.  I tell you, artistry can be exhausting.

Love,

Fae

121949102379436778_iukpex1z_b

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Movies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scenes

  1. Farie says:

    Oh my gosh, where are the Depends?!!!! You kill me…

  2. Nana says:

    Too funny Lorna!!!

Leave a Reply

