I’m Bulletproof

IMG_8098

I know you.  You think that I’ve gone off the deep end at this point and you’re not far off the truth in that.  But as I sit here and type up this post, I’m downing a pretty damn good cup of coffee, if I do say so myself.

Let me put this out there right now.  I don’t like Starbucks coffee.  Nope, no sirree.  I’ve tried for years to like it but it always tastes so bitter.  I will admit to jumping onto the Starbucks bandwagon when they came to town popping up on every corner like mushrooms after a hard rain.  I bought the pre-paid coffee cards so that I could zip in the drive through and order my designer latte or chai.  Never plain coffee.  Blech.  After awhile, though, my designer cup of whatever just became too sweet, too expensive, too boring.  And truth be told, I only liked the chai, that is, until I discovered another coffee shop in town, Bibos.

Their chai was awesome!  But again, after drinking it for awhile (and they weren’t as convenient as every corner Starbucks) it became like eating a bag of sugar.  I didn’t feel good after drinking it.  In October 2006, I gave up my chai-swizzling hipster days.  And I have not looked back once.  Give me a cup of Joe (with milk and sweetner, please) and I’m good to go.  And if you don’t mind, please don’t make it so strong that my spoon will stand up by itself in my cup.  I am a coffee wuss.

I blame my son now for this blog post.  A couple of months ago, he mentioned he was drinking Bulletproof Coffee.  I smiled and thought to myself, “how cute…a Crossfit coffee”.  When asked, he rattled off the ingredients and my jaw dropped.  How utterly unappetizing I thought.  While on vacation last month, he came over early one morning with his Vitamix full of coffee and asked to use our Vitamix blender as it’s pretty loud and his family was still asleep in their trailer.  Sure, go ahead.  Now, he likes STRONG coffee.  Cowboy coffee strong.  But I was curious and had a sip.  I might add that he doesn’t use sweetner either.  Holy cow….such a different taste in coffee.  And truth be told, we had to guess at how much good fat to use in his blender.  We used too much butter as Mr. Fae said the coffee tastes like buttered popcorn.  Not a good description of a cup of coffee.

When we got home from vacation, I investigated this Bulletproof coffee.  There is a site devoted to it, selling special mold-free, organic coffee beans and a special fat (better than coconut oil).  This guy was in business!  If you look into it, it will be pricey and since I’m not a coffee aficiando, I wouldn’t know if I were drinking moldy ground coffee beans or not.

He does explain the story behind the ingredients though.  Mountain climbing in Tibet and yak butter tea.  It’s always the yak butter tea that pulls me into a story, you know? Anyway, after reading it, I thought that I’d give it a try with my MJB.  My son really talked about the froth that forms when you blend it and he’s right.  The froth is pretty tasty.

I assembled my ingredients and measured the amount MY coffee cup holds and went from there.IMG_8089

If you have never tasted Kerrygold butter, you will be in for a mouth watering treat.  It is so far superior to our butter we get in the states…just wow.  Please do not attempt this with anything less than Kerrygold.  And certainly do not use salted butter!  This is made from grass-fed cows not soy or grain fed cows.  It is an incredible difference.  I also used my vanilla creme stevia to sweeten it.

I put it all into my Vitamix; a regular blender or immersible blender will work as well.  Spoon blending will not work and you won’t get the yummy foam on top.

That butter looks like a raw egg floating there, doesn't it?

That butter looks like a raw egg floating there, doesn’t it?

I also added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and 6 drops of vanilla cream to it.

And you know what?  This…this coffee tasted great.  Look at me!  I made my first designer coffee!!

They claim that with the ‘good’ fats used in this, it can take the place of a meal.  I don’t know about that; my feeling is this, have your eggs and bacon and THIS coffee.  You won’t get hungry around 10:30am for a mid morning snack, that’s for sure.

Bulletproof Coffee

  • one mug hot coffee
  • 1 tablespoon yak butter or, if it’s not handy, Kerrygold butter  (I used slightly less than one full tablespoon but more than 1/2 tablespoon.  The same with the coconut oil)
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • sweetner to taste.  There are many great stevia sweetner blends and Whole Foods have them.

Put all into Vitamix or blender.  Blend until you see foam appear, about 30 seconds.  Pour into mug and enjoy.  Experiment with other spices and sweetners.  I think you’ll really like it.

Thanks to Dave Asprey and his Bulletproof coffee!

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 5.27.58 PM

 

 

 

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Bulletproof

  1. Farie says:

    Will you make some for Croptoberfest?

Leave a Reply

