Fajita Secrets Revealed!

IMG_8266

I don’t know about you, but I love fajitas.  Here we have a restaurant that serves fajitas on a sizzling platter that will burn you if you touch it.  The server carries it out with hot pads and the sizzling of the meat and veggies with steam rising up grabs everyone’s attention.  Especially mine.  I loved that meal.  Now that we’ve cleaned up our eating, most of the stuff served with that meal is a no-no to us.  I do miss chips and salsa, though.  I can have the salsa but not the chips.

But, that is not the purpose of this post.  The purpose of this post is..uh, well, I had it a minute ago.  Oh, yeah…is flank steak.

Got you there, didn’t I?

I have never been a fan of this steak like members of my family are, because whenever I’ve cooked it, it was always tough.  I marinated it for days but to no avail.  Flank steak and I did not get along.  That is, until last night.

I had a recipe for an Asian style grilled flank steak and with a heavy sigh, knew that neither of us would like it because A. It was grilled.  We would both try it and comment that it was ‘OK’ but we would rather not try that recipe again.  So instead of going through all the sighing and lamenting, I would try to make something else with what I had on hand.

Fajitas sounded good, but again it called for grilling the whole steak. Why not, I thought, just slice it up first, marinade it for an hour, and then just saute’ it up in the ol’ frying pan?  Hunger is the mother of invention.  The marinade should soak into each slice, tenderizing as it sat.  It also called for a seasoning packet of fajita spices.  I had to make do with my own.  Also, I have always felt that the more the merrier with onions and peppers, you know?  Usually recipes call for one onion and one bell pepper and be gone with you!  This time I was calling the shots.

So here is the group shot of all the spices I used and the grand total comes to 1/4 cup to be used on both the meat and the veggies.IMG_8242

Fajita Seasoning Mix

  • 1/2 t cumin
  • 1/4 cayenne pepper
  • 1 t smoked paprika
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 t garlic powder
  • 2 t chili powder
  • 1 t oregano
  • 1 T arrowroot powder (instead of cornstarch for thickening)

Mix it in a small bowl all together.  Sprinkle half of it on the veggies and the other half on the meat all at the appropriate time.  You might want to double or triple this to have on hand because I guarantee you will be making this frequently.

IMG_8245

 

As you can see, I used two onions (sweet), three bell peppers and one poblano pepper.  Actually, I only used half of the poblano…didn’t want someone to get indigestion…..

Slice these all up for the largest fry pan you have.  You’ll notice, as well, that I don’t slice my onions into rings but half rings.

They all fall apart when cooking so I prefer not to slice my fingers off trying to get perfect rings.IMG_8248 IMG_8249

 

Before you start these cooking, slice up the flank steak.  Slice against the grain, too.  Mix up the marinade.  Place the meat into a plastic bag and pour marinade over it.  Let it sit in the refrigerator at least one hour before cooking.  The longer the better.

Turn the stove top on to a low temperature, pour two tablespoons of olive oil into the pan and let it get warmed up.  Place all veggies into pan and just let them all cook and steam, stirring occasionally for about 30 minutes.  Once the onions and peppers are cooked to the doneness that YOU prefer, sprinkle the fajita seasoning over them.  Stir well and turn up the burners.  Now you want to have those veggies get a little dark around the edges but not burned.  Once that happens, remove from heat and place vegetable in another container and set aside.

After the marinade time is up, use the same fry pan.  Do not add more oil as the marinade has oil in it.  Get the pan hot and place the meat into it.  It will start to steam and burble.  (yes, burble)  Stir every couple of minutes allowing the moisture to evaporate.  Once that happens, sprinkle the remainder of the fajita seasoning onto the steak and stir.  Allow the edges of the meat to crisp up as well.

Voila’!  Now you can chop up some tomatoes, avocados, olives, radishes, salsa and whatever you little heart desires for your fajitas for you finished meal.  If you’re not eating the Paleo version, shred some cheddar cheese up and have some sour cream handy.

Fajita Marinade

  • 2 T lime juice
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic chopped up
  • 1 t chili powder

I think that you’ll really like this.

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 5.26.22 PM

 

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fajita Secrets Revealed!

  1. Farie says:

    Yummy! I can’t wait to try this!

Leave a Reply

