Earthquakes

Screen-Shot-2013-08-27-at-09.03.49

Yeah, so we had one here this week.  To some, it was a small one, merely 4.2.  To others, it felt more like a 40.2.  I don’t like them and I don’t know who does short of geologists.

I heard it before I felt it and it rocked me against the counter.  I was slicing up onions for cooking when it happened, listening to the glasses rattle in the cabinet.

“Holy Crap!” I said.  I meant that is several different ways.  I had thrown my back out the day before and standing up was a new exercise in pain.  Slicing up onions AND trying to stay upright without the earthquake was taking a lot of concentration.  I knew, as most of us living in earthquake country know,  that in a lasting more than a few seconds kind of temblor, you need to seek shelter of some kind.  Running for me, was so far out of the question as to be laughable.  I shuffled towards a nearby doorway.  I made it in about 3 minutes.  Mr. Fae was outside and promptly came in to check on me.  I was still shuffling towards the door.

You ok? he asked.  Yep….still shuffling for shelter.  You?

I make light of it now, but in all honesty, it brought back that little nugget of fear I had from 2008 and the multitude of quakes we had for several months.  At the time, they were called ‘fore-shocks’.  We had so many each day!  The media reported that they may just stop at any time OR they may just be leading up to ‘the big one’.

Daily we were blitzed with how to ready your home for earthquakes.  Don’t park your car in the garage, you might not be able to get it out.  Always keep shoes by your bed at night along with the car keys.  You don’t want to be stumbling barefooted in quake rubble and damage.  Take all large items off the walls.  (We had no pictures in frames on our walls for a couple months.  Just laying there upright on the carpet against the wall.)  Know your exit strategy from any room in the house.

It got so that I was afraid to use the bathroom in the middle of the night!  What if the BIGONE happened while I was….busy?  The images of me running screaming down the stairs, without shoes on, without car keys in hand, and toilet paper sticking to my bare feet was an ongoing nightmare for me.

We did have one of the largest for our city, a 4.7, that April.  It was a few days after our first grandchild was born.  Yes, glasses fell and broke, a cemented boulder in a water feature fell…things rocked here.  And thankfully, the ‘fore-shocks’ then became after-shocks and finally disappeared altogether.

But the media is at it again…the one we had this week could be a precursor.  And my nervous twitch begins again.

 

Love,

Fae

 

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Earthquakes

  1. Farie says:

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

