Welcome Back, Felia!

It’s been a while.  A LONG while.  But what with the wedding……  and all the stress that ensued.  I am sorry it has taken me so long, but I am back.  For now with just a little recipe, but eventually you will hear ALL about the wedding of the year!

But I am back, and loving our garden at the moment.  FOUR POUNDS of tomatoes came out of it yesterday.  FOUR POUNDS in ONE DAY.  I have never grown a tomato from a plant in my life, so this is a feat that I am in the vicinity of these plants and they don’t die from the aura of black vegetation that radiates from my body. Seriously.  I don’t have a black thumb, I have a black aura.

Anyway, we went to Idaho to visit the parents, and to go to friends’ wedding, and Dad decided to unload another 10 pounds of tomatoes on us.  I took them!  Monday I made tomato sauce in the crock pot and a ton left over, but last night I made homemade fresh tomato soup.  Easy peasy!  (I took the recipe from Food Network, but here it is again, with a cute little picture, too.)

Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup

2008, Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics, All Rights Reserved

Prep Time: 15 min.

Cook Time:  1 hr 0 min

Serves:  5 to 6 servings

Ingredients

3 tablespoons good olive oil

1 1/2 cups chopped red onions (2 onions)

2 carrots, unpeeled and chopped

1 tablespoon minced garlic (3 cloves)

4 pounds vine-ripened tomatoes, coarsely chopped (5 large)

1 1/2 teaspoons sugar

1 tablespoon tomato paste1/4 cup packed chopped fresh basil leaves, plus julienned basil leaves, for garnish

3 cups chicken stock, preferably homemade

1 tablespoon kosher salt

2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper

3/4 cup heavy cream

Croutons, for garnish

Directions

Heat the olive oil in a large, heavy-bottomed pot over medium-low heat. Add the onions and carrots and saute for about 10 minutes, until very tender. Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute. Add the tomatoes, sugar, tomato paste, basil, chicken stock, salt, and pepper and stir well. Bring the soup to a boil, lower the heat, and simmer, uncovered, for 30 to 40 minutes, until the tomatoes are very tender.

Add the cream to the soup and process it through a food mill into a bowl, discarding only the dry pulp that’s left. Reheat the soup over low heat just until hot and serve with julienned basil leaves and/or croutons.

Copyright 2013 Television Food Network G.P. All Rights Reserved

OK.  I don’t own a food mill.  I registered for one, but no such luck. I just used an immersion blender to get the big chunks, and it tasted JUST FINE.

My camera phone does not do it justice.

My camera phone does not do it justice.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

