Chile Verde

I am a HUGE fan of Mexican food.  You name it, I love it short of tripe.  I can not go there.  However, give me tacos, enchiladas, burritos, pasole, tamales….I am in heaven.  But, there are things involved….bad things that hurt me to eat most of it anymore.  If it has corn in it?  I’m DONE.  So whenever I can find a recipe that doesn’t use corn, either in chips, oil, or tortillas…..I will make it.

Not to long ago, Felia, yes, that’s right, the Felia that posted YESTERDAY, put a link up on Facebook to a blogger that has many Mexican recipes.  I perused most of the entrees and side dishes and came up with this one.  I made a change or two to it and have noted those in the recipe.

But let me tell you how good my kitchen smells right now.  Hmmmmboy.  My chile verde is slowly simmering away and will continue to do so for another two hours.  This recipe is ridiculously easy to make and fast as far as prep work goes.  The length of time to cook is the only thing that you need to be aware of.  Don’t start making this at 4 o’clock in the afternoon unless you want to eat stylishly at 10pm!

Gather up all the goodies…

IMG_8352

When you buy tomatillos, make sure that they are fresh and not old and wrinkly.  You can lift up a bit of the paper husk to see if they have any wrinkles.  There is also a sticky residue on tomatillos that washes off so don’t fret.  Line a baking sheet with foil for easy clean up and place tomatillos, pasilla chile and garlic on it.  Broil until the tops are burnt slightly. It took about 7 minutes in my oven and I rotated the pan once.

Before

Before

and after

and after

I bought the Pasilla chile and one large jalapeño.  The next time I would increase either the amount of jalapeño (or leave the seeds in it) or add a hotter chile to the mix, say, serrano.  The original recipe wasn’t as spicy as Mr. Fae and I prefer.  Preparing the tomatillos and chiles took about 10 minutes tops.  Broiling them took 7 minutes and processing them took seconds.  All told making the verde sauce was fast and easy.  Take the pasilla out, place in a bowl and cover with plastic wrap to make it easier for the skin to pull off.IMG_8358

After 10 minutes, the skin should peel off quite easily.  Place the tomatillos, chile, jalapeño, peeled garlic, and cilantro into a food processor and whirl away.  IMG_8360 IMG_8361Your verde sauce is done. IMG_8365

It was at this point I stopped, refrigerated the sauce and went to an appointment.  When I returned, I completed the dish with the browning of the meat, cooking onions and garlic. IMG_8367 IMG_8368

When you first start browning the meat, moisture will form on the bottom of the pan.  Do not stir the meat at that point.  The moisture will evaporate and then the meat will start browning.  It took about 8 minutes for that to happen.   Then I let it cook.  That step took about 20 minutes.  See?  Fast.  You could probably just throw the whole thing into a crockpot as well if you get started early enough in the morning.  I love crockpots.

Beginning to simmer

Beginning to simmer

When this is all said and done, serve it over spanish rice with beans or in a tortilla shell….

OR

Like I did the next day, with my breakfast egg.  It was muy delicioso!

IMG_8374

 

Chile Verde

Courtesy of ‘For the Love of Cooking’

  • 10-12 tomatillos
  • 5 garlic cloves, NOT peeled
  • 1 jalapeño or as I stated above, add another hotter chile or don’t seed this jalapeño
  • 1 Pasilla chile, cored, seeded and flattened
  • 1 bunch cilantro leaves, cleaned
  • 1.5 – 2 pound pork loin or shoulder, trimmed of excess fat and cut into 2″ cubes
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • olive oil
  • 2 yellow onions
  • 3 garlic cloves, peeled and finely chopped
  • 2 T chopped fresh oregano or 1 T dried oregano.  I had on hand some Mexican oregano (well, the package said oregano and it smelled like oregano…..)
  • 2.5 cups chicken stock or more depending on how far down your sauce simmers
  • (Optional:  1/4 t crushed red pepper flakes for more heat.  Before adding this though, taste sauce.  If it is to your comfortable ‘heat index’ don’t add, but if you like it a bit more spicy, this will do the trick)

Position oven rack close to the broiler.  Cover a baking sheet with foil.  Remove papery husks from tomatillos and rinse well.  Cut in half and place cut side down, along with 5 unpeeled garlic cloves and the cored, seeded and flattened chile pepper, skin side up on the baking sheet.

Broil in the oven until the tops are blackened, rotating pan once, about 5-7 minutes.

Transfer the chile pepper to a small bowl, cover with plastic wrap and let cool for 10 minutes.  Once the pepper is cool to handle, carefully remove the blackened skin.  Place tomatillos, skins included, into  the food processor.  Remove the skins from the now roasted garlic and add to processor along with cilantro, jalapeno, pasilla and pulse until all ingredients are finely chopped and mixed.

Season the pork cubes generously with the salt, pepper, and oregano.  Heat olive oil in dutch oven over medium high heat then brown the pork on all sides.  Remove pork from pan, adding more olive oil if necessary to cook the sliced onion and garlic until tender about 4 minutes.  Add the pork back into dutch oven with onion/garlic mixture and then top with verde sauce.  Add enough chicken broth to pan to cover meat.  Bring to a boil and then simmer for 2-3 hours uncovered or until pork is fork tender.

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-08-23 at 10.25.40 AM

 

 

 

 

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Paleo approved and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chile Verde

  1. Felia says:

    This is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good. My mother-in-law made this for our rehearsal dinner, and it is RIGHT DELICIOUS!!!! Seriously.

Leave a Reply

