Almond Crusted Bake Fried Vegetables

asparagus

This recipe was printed in our local newspaper this past spring.  And as you know, spring time is asparagus time….me loves asparagus!  Nice thin stalks that I can eat raw or cooked.  Being as Mr. Fae doesn’t care for a bundle of RAW asparagus like I do, when I saw this recipe, I thought why not?

Most of the time when recipes call for baking some vegetables, I get excited and think that this time,  THIS TIME, I will like it.  So far, cauliflower and broccoli are disgusting baked.  I can’t stand the smell of them cooking and I know it reflects on the taste.  But asparagus?  How can you hurt asparagus?  I love any way it is fixed.

Originally, this recipe was for broccoli but the author decided to try asparagus as well.  Thank goodness he/she did!  I didn’t take pictures while I was preparing this because I didn’t think I would make it for a blog post but inspiration struck as I was loading up my plate!

I have made two adjustments to the original recipe found in parentheses.

 

ALMOND-CRUSTED BAKE-FRIED ASPARAGUS

 

START TO FINISH:  35 minutes (15 minutes active)

MAKES 6 SERVINGS

INGREDIENTS:

6 egg whites

2½ cups almond flour  (I increased the amount of flour because I ran out the first time I made this)

1½ teaspoons garlic powder

1½ teaspoons smoked paprika

1½ teaspoons ground cumin

2 teaspoons kosher salt

¾ teaspoon ground black pepper

2 bunches asparagus, tough bottoms trimmed

DIRECTIONS:

1. Heat oven to 450 degrees.

2. Set a wire rack over a rimmed baking sheet. Coat rack with cooking spray.

3. In a very large bowl, whisk egg whites until frothy. Set aside.  (I used my immersion blender and it took about 20 seconds to get frothy)

4. In medium bowl, mix together almond flour, garlic powder, paprika, cumin, salt and pepper.

5. Place asparagus in egg whites and gently roll or toss until all of the spears are coated and moistened.

6. A few spears at a time, transfer asparagus to almond flour mixture. Roll spears in mixture until evenly and well coated.

7. If needed, pat coating on with your hands. Arrange coated spears on prepared rack.

8. When all of the spears are on the rack, spritz them lightly with cooking spray.

9. Roast for 20 minutes, or until crispy and lightly browned. Serve immediately.

Recipe courtesy of JM Hirsch

Try it; you will really like it.

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-10-01 at 3.59.08 PM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

