Bokeh

Never heard of it before?  I know that you’ve seen it hundreds and hundreds of times and you probably admire the look of it.  Bokeh is all around us if you’re taking photos.  And, since the holiday season is coming up, bokeh is a look that you’ll want to do to make your photos really ‘pop’ with texture.

Here are a few shots that I’ve done with my big camera, Canon 5D.  These types of cameras lend themselves to great shots but I’ve learned that you can enjoy the bokeh look with our point and shoots as well.  But first, a few shots to show you what exactly ‘BOKEH’ is.

IMG_3179 IMG_3312

Bokeh is the blurred background with a focus on something close up.  Interesting bokeh appears when you are shooting close to a subject and light is reflected behind them.  Bokeh is found not only in night shots but day shots as well.

IMG_8827

See the sunlight reflecting off of the water behind the leaves?  That is bokeh, my friends.  The leaves, the little girl, and the candle are closer to the camera and the main focal point blurring out the background.  If there happens to be reflection behind the focal point, bokeh will result with those sparkles.

Don’t despair.  Bokeh is also achievable with point and shoot cameras during day and night shots.  You just have to fiddle with your camera selections first.  Make sure that the flash is turned off.IMG_8904flash

And select ‘macro’ as your shooting mode.

IMG_8904macro

Next, select your subject and background you’d like to have blurred.  I chose  a day time shot with candle light in the background to show that daylight is just as easy to shoot in as evening times.

IMG_4294

See how the candle light is blurred in the background while the subject is in focus?  Here are my settings on my point and shoot.

Screen Shot 2013-11-07 at 11.21.31 AM

My ISO is 400 and you see that on the LCD readout on the camera above it looks like ISO HI.  I don’t like using the ISO AUTO speed as camera shake can still occur.  ISO HI is the fastest that my camera can shoot at.  DSLR cameras can shoot much, much faster but they are a different animal all together.

Now, grab your camera and set off to start shooting some fabulous bokeh!

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-07-14 at 4.28.15 PM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bokeh

  1. Farie says:

    Thanks for the tutorial, Fae!

Leave a Reply

