Tomato Salsa

If you’ve been around me you will have had, at some point in your life, my salsa.  This is my plain, down home, know it by memory salsa.  And people seem to like it as they ask for the recipe.  In fact, while offering to help with a large graduation party, it was requested, nay, demanded of me for two large batches of this salsa to be provided.

I learned of the recipe decades ago while working at a local tv station.  The original was tweaked by me because it had too many steps, too much babying, too much….something.  I didn’t want to boil jalapenos to help make them mild.  This is SALSA.  If you want mild, try La Victoria.

That said, the salsa is not blistering hot either.  You know how it is.  You pick one jalapeno and it’s hotter than hell.  You pick another jalapeno, and you could it like an apple because it’s so mild.  You just never know how hot it will or won’t be.  I cut off the stem of the pepper and do NOT seed it just in case it’s a mild one.  Leaving the seeds in will give you a hotter salsa, but again, not so hot that you can’t eat it.  It gives it a zing, if you will.

Let’s get started.

IMG_8907

You can’t see it very well, but the can of tomatoes are whole peeled tomatoes.  You can use a red onion if you prefer, but somebody in my household gets horrific indigestion from red onions.  I use yellow onions and it’s just fine.  This particular onion was too big for the amount I was making, so I only used 2/3 of it.  I also used two garlic cloves and one whole bunch of cilantro.  Do not fear the cilantro.

Peel and cut in half the onion, stem the jalapeno and place both into food processor to dice up.  IMG_8910Then grab the lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, garlic, salt and pepper.  Throw all those in and pulse a few times.

IMG_8911

Still with me?  I haven’t lost you yet, right?  Now….having washed and spun the moisture out of the cilantro, add that to the processor.  On top of that, add the entire can of tomatoes with juice. IMG_8912

The weight of the tomatoes will hold down the cilantro so that it doesn’t fly around inside the processor.  Turn the processor on and watch the tomato-onion-peppery goodness appear!

This entire recipe should take you less than five minutes to prepare.  Now you can eat it with a spoon sitting on your kitchen floor like moi.  You can add a couple of spoonfuls of it to your favorite guacamole, spoon it over some scrambled eggs, top your enchiladas with it…it is a very versatile go-to recipe.  And of course, NACHOS!!!

Tomato Salsa

  • 1 28oz can whole peeled tomatoes
  • 1 jalepeno
  • 1 onion, red or yellow, peeled
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • 1 T apple cider vinegar
  • 1 T lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper to taste

De-stem the jalapeno and cut onion in half.  Use only half until you have tasted the final sauce.  If you want more onion, add it at that time.  Process the onion and jalapeno until diced.  Add the garlic, vinegar, lemon juice, salt and pepper to process and pulse a few times.  Add the cleaned cilantro, cutting of most of the stems.  Make sure that you either ‘spin’ the cilantro in a salad spinner or shake off excess moisture.  Add the tomatoes with juice on top of the cilantro and process until all is mixed.  And there you have it!  Bueno!

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-11-06 at 8.21.42 PM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Paleo approved and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

