And we were thankful.

Many of you know now that our son developed ‘community-acquired’ double pneumonia during the Thanksgiving week.  He spent three days in ICU.  I’ve been frightened before with family health scares, but let me tell you, having your child struggling to breathe is right up there in my top three all time worst life moments.  If we never have to do that again, that’s all right by me!

While he was there, a few employees of the hospital and fellow Crossfitters came by to say hi and how you doin’?  These employee’s jobs were special enough to ensure that our son had special attention.  I would like to particularly single out a few….Angie, the ICU nurse who became our son’s BFF within hours of him being treated there.  She knew what he wanted/needed before he did.  She kept a smile on his face when he didn’t feel like smiling.  Angie, you are one of God’s angels on earth…thank you.  To Cathy and Kris, a special thank you for your care and concern during your own holiday days off.  When they say that crossfitters are a family unto their own, it is so very true.  You all take care of one another physically and spiritually through your intense athleticism and competitive spirit.  I know that our son feels tremendously thankful that you are in his and his family lives.

I would also like to say a heartfelt and tremendous thank you to all my family and friends who answered my prayer call on Facebook with posts, texts, emails, and phone calls.  I was bowled over by the amount of comments and communication from friends near and far.  Friends who I haven’t actually seen in decades but are ‘friends’ with and still communicate with were so kind with their comments.  I will never forget this outpouring we received.  It humbled me.

Because?  This little guy?  He means the world to us….

Scan 123070005 Scan 123050080 Scan 123050075 Scan 123050043 Scan 123040048 2013_02_15_11_15_25.pdf000 2013_02_15_11_19_54.pdf057

Love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

