Mushrooms, Parmesan Ranch style

Pinterest you evil bitch, you.

Just when I congratulating myself on not even looking at you anymore, I was lured by one word – parmesanranchmushrooms.  Ok, three words.  Crock pot style.  You know, because how many other styles could there be?

Oh, my word.  Easy beyond belief and tasty beyond that.  I bought two boxes of whole mushrooms thinking that I’d have leftovers.  Ha!  After cooking only a few hours, they were ready and smelling divine.  My daughter was here and I had her try the very first one (guinea pig and all that).  My daughter, the one who hated mushrooms her whole life finally decided one day that, hey, they weren’t so bad.  Anyway, she tasted one and then grabbed a bowl serving herself from the crock pot all the while begging me to cook for her and her family.  She is cute.

I finished the rest of them.  Mr. Fae was outta luck with these babies.

Here is all there is to it:

IMG_9452

Beyond simple, right?  And if you haven’t tried the crock pot liners or inserts, you must!  These little jewels keep all that liquid in and doesn’t let anything cook onto the crock itself saving time in the clean up.  And who really likes to scrub crock pots, amiright?

Like I said earlier, I used two boxes of mushrooms, a total of 16oz.  What I like to do while I’m cleaning them, is to break off the stem leaving just the cap for eating.  I feel that the stems can be woody in texture at times.  Drain all the mushrooms in a colander.  Once that’s done, melt one cube of butter in the microwave and pour one package of the Hidden Valley Ranch powdered dressing into the measuring cup with the butter.  Mix well.  Dump all those lovely mushrooms into the lined crock pot and pour the butter/dressing mixture all over them.

IMG_9457

Top with a few pinches of Parmesan cheese on top, cover and cook on low for four hours.  Done and done.

IMG_9461 IMG_9462

This is the time of year when parties are going on every weekend and sometimes you’ll be asked to bring a side dish or an appetizer.  This couldn’t be easier!  But, I’m warning you here, you will need to double or triple these amounts!

IMG_9484

Parmesan Ranch Mushrooms

  • 1 cube butter
  • 1 package Hidden Valley Ranch powdered dressing
  • 16 ounces cleaned mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, shredded

Clean and drain mushrooms.  Melt butter in microwave and then add HVR dressing; mix well.  Place mushrooms into crock pot and pour butter mixture over them all.  Sprinkle cheese on top.  Cover and cook on low for four hours.  Serves four as an appetizer.

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-11-25 at 1.22.50 PM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mushrooms, Parmesan Ranch style

  1. Nana says:

    Well that sounds easy enough. Think I’ll try them.

  2. Anonymous says:

    They are soooo good. Be prepared to eat all of them yourself.

Leave a Reply

