You say ToMATE-o, I say ToMOT-o

One thing that I love, no wait, two things that I love together is tomatoes and eggs.  One type of breakfast that I’d make would be some fried eggs and sliced tomatoes with a little salt on the tomatoes.  Love it.

But then I got to thinking….baked tomatoes..another great taste I love.  Baked tomatoes and eggs?  Well.  How about an egg inside a baked tomato?  How about an egg and other goods inside a tomato?  It would have to be a big tomato once my imagination got going.  I did learn a few things about putting too good a thing inside a tomato.  Too much of a good thing will just get messy.

So here we go:

IMG_0061

A couple of eggs (just for ME!) cooked, crumbled bacon, tomatoes, and some baby kale.

Grab a regular sized muffin tin and line it with foil.  Now, spray the foil.  Learn from me here.  I did not spray the foil and getting the cooked tomato out was a bit dicey.  Cut the tops off of rather large tomatoes.  Don’t buy them so big that they won’t fit into your muffin tin unless you have one of the extra large muffin tins.  Then go ahead, be my guest.  With a spoon (a grapefruit spoon works best) scoop out all the seeds leaving just the rest of the tomato intact.

IMG_0062

Sprinkle salt into the insides of the tomato.  Use your own judgement on how salty you like.  To me?  Salty tomatoes=yummy goodness.

Next, place a few pieces of baby spinach or baby kale or both if you have it and like it.  And I mean, just a few…three at the most.

IMG_0063

Then place your crumbled bacon onto of the greens.  Again, just a few!  You will have left over bacon you can sprinkle ON TOP if you’d like.  Next, break one egg on top of all that.  Now you will find out if you’ve put too many goodies in first because you egg will overflow at this point.  Trust me on this.

IMG_0064

See?  You can see that the egg on the right spilled onto the foil.  Salt and pepper the top of the egg and place in a 350˚ oven.  Depending on how hot your oven gets (mine runs hotter than the temperature calls for) keep an eye on the eggs.  Around the 20 minute mark, check to see if the egg is baked all the way through.  If not, cook an additional 5 minutes until done.  I left mine in for a full 30 minutes.  The top of the egg yolk browned a bit, but the bottom of the egg inside the tomato was just perfect.

IMG_0066

This was a perfect sized breakfast for me.  It lasted well past my usual 10am snack time.

IMG_0067If you had extra bacon crumbles, add those to the top of the eggs around the 25 minute mark.

Serves ONE

  • 2 large, ripe tomatoes, tops cut off and seeds removed
  • 2-3 pieces of spinach or kale
  • 1 piece cooked, crumbled bacon
  • 2 eggs

Aluminum foil, muffin tin, and cooking spray needed.

Rinse tomato, cut of tops and scoop out insides.  Place on a foil lined muffin tin.  Add greens, bacon, and then egg.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Bake at 350˚ for up to 30 minutes.

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2013-12-30 at 10.45.24 AM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

