My morning wine…. JUICE! Paleo style

I’ve been asked several times now what exactly we, Mr. Fae and I, use in our morning juice we make.  He makes his with more items than I do including avocado, but I find that it’s too thick for my barely awake tastes.  I keep mine simple and easy to whip up in just a few minutes.

I never, ever, have been one for frozen fruit smoothies, those sweet drinks some people adore.  But then, I don’t like ice cold food or drink either, so no wonder, right?  In my drink, I do use frozen blueberries and that keeps it cold enough for me.

Here we go..

Well, almost.  It being Friday and all, we are low on our veggies and fruits…time to go shopping!  In my drink this morning, I’m missing two key ingredients so keep that in mind.

My drink this morning consists of

IMG_0234

Frozen organic blueberries, available at Costco, lemon juice, banana, spinach, tomato, carrot, and water.  What’s missing, you ask?  MY KALE AND CUCUMBER, MR. FAE, THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

Early bird gets the worm, right?

I don’t measure anything in making my drink so I had to somehow show you just how much spinach I used.  See the little ramekin?  That’s full of my spinach and I use the same amount of kale, when we still have it!  The same goes with the amount of blueberries I use.

IMG_0235

I use only one tomato, 1/2 banana, one carrot and the juice of 1/2 lemon.  The lemon makes it so very refreshing!  And when there are actually cucumbers to be found in the refrigerator, I peel and cut up about two inches of them.

IMG_0249

Once all that is in my VitaMix, I add 14 oz. of water, which fills my glass up completely full with a little bit left over.

IMG_0250

Then I pulverize/blend/mix the whole concoction…and voila!

IMG_0251

This is a great way to get in a bunch of your veggies and fruits all at once during the day.  Mind, if you’re doing Paleo, this is just the start of your daily amount you should be taking it.

It was delish.  ::burp::  excuse me.

IMG_0255

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 12.06.26 PM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My morning wine…. JUICE! Paleo style

  1. Farie says:

    Yummy! I should think about giving juicing a try…I don’t have a fancy schmancy blender, though.

  2. Fae says:

    Try it with your food processor or blender!

  3. Fannie says:

    I, too have been toying with the idea of juicing. I used to whip up versions in the “sweet, frozen” variety; consisting of Costco mixed frozen berries, greek yogurt, a scoop of protein powder, a packet of sweetener and 1/2 banana (Pre-Paleo days). I used my regular blender. I notice that you don’t have any source of protein in this; if this is your morning meal, do you add some sort of protein to have with your juice?

    • Fae says:

      This is in addition to my breakfast. Usually an egg with bacon or leftovers from one of our dinners. I don’t care for the protein powder taste in my juice. Mr. Fae uses it though. He uses Protein7 (not Paleo however there is a Paleo Protein powder out there) He will also throw 2 raw eggs on occasion. He’s been doing that for years. I asked him if he worried about it and he told me his allergist told him to do that. He’s never had any problem. You could still do your smoothie only use coconut milk yogurt and no sweetner.

  4. Felia says:

    Was that a tomato? Woah.

Leave a Reply

