Torpedoes, Roosevelt, and Kamikazes

Need a laugh?  Something to round out your week with?  Let me share with you a story dating back to World War II.  This is about my father-in-law’s ship in the Pacific theater.  He was there for the ending of it but not the beginning of the ship’s story.

Let’s start here

wint navy

Mr. Fae’s Dad…quite handsome, no?  He trained in Idaho at the Farragut Naval Base before heading out to his first ship, the USS William D. Porter.  The Willie D, as it was referred to, should have been called ‘the ship that sailed only under black clouds’.  Dad came aboard in April 1945.

Now, here’s the story:

willie d story

But, wait.  It gets better.willie d page 2

willie d page3

My in-laws went faithfully to each annual ship’s reunions during the summer time until my father-in-law became to frail to travel.  My mother-in-law, along with all this memorabilia, has a piece of canvas taken from the kamikaze aircraft that will go into her Navy book about my father-in-law.  The sad thing about all this, was all ribbons and medals he had earned went down with the ship.  We are trying to have the Navy re-send duplicates to my mother-in-law now.

Quite a story, isn’t it?

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 3.53.09 PM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Family, Scrapbooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Torpedoes, Roosevelt, and Kamikazes

  1. Farie says:

    That is quite a story!

Leave a Reply

