Roasted Butternut Squash with Pancetta

But it’s orange, you say.  It’s squash, you say.

Yes, yes.  You are correct on both accounts but you’re forgetting the absolute tastiness of it all…it has PORK in it!

I win.

You will, too, when you try and taste this most excellent of side dishes.  I have always loved squash.  All different kinds of squash my mom would make us as kids.  I just grew up eating them and loving them.  Now, Mr. Fae, on the other hand, not so much.  When we first got married and I was prepping some zucchini for dinner, he asked what I was doing.  I told him that we would be eating squash.  By the look in his face, I had to ask.

“Do you like squash?”

“No.”

“Have you ever had squash?”

“No.”

“You will love it.”  And he did and still does…just like me, all different kinds of squash.

This recipe is by far one of the most, if not the most tastiest butternut squash recipe I’ve run across.

Here we go:

IMG_0297

It calls for cutting up the butternut squash but I HATE doing that.  I’ll wait until I see that the store I’m shopping in has some pre-cut squash for me to purchase.  See those two cartons?  That will feed only me and Mr. Fae.  If you are serving more folks, you’ll need to purchase more of these diced up goodies.

This is soooo easy to prepare if the squash is diced up for you.  Grab a large bowl and dump all the squash into it.  Melt the coconut oil in the microwave (15 secs), dice up the pancetta WITHOUT EATING ANY OF IT, AND I MEAN IT.  IMG_0299Slice up some garlic, chop up some fresh rosemary and if you’re really feeling the Julia Childs jive going on, use coriander seeds and grind those up.  If not, use already ground coriander like I did.IMG_0298

Dump all of this into the bowl with the squash and mix thoroughly.IMG_0301

Line a baking pan with foil and them dump everything in the bowl onto the baking pan.  Cook for 30 minutes at 375˚ watching so that the squash doesn’t burn if your oven tends to cook hotter than the register.

IMG_0313

And that, my friends, is it.  Voila!

I tried to give some to my oldest grandson but he didn’t want to try it all.  My youngest grandson tried it, loved it, and kept yelling ‘Mo!’ which is he way of asking, ‘my I have some more of your delightful side dish of roasted butternut squash and pancetta, please?’

Gotta love him…he has great manners.  He would fit right at home in Downton Abbey.

Roasted Butternut Squash with Pancetta

  • 3 T coconut oil, melted
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 T coriander seeds, ground or 1.5 t of ground coriander
  • 1 T fresh rosemary, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 6 oz pancetta, chopped (or you could substitute bacon)
  • 1 butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and diced.

Preheat oven to 375˚.  Combine oil, garlic, coriander, rosemary, salt and pepper in a large bowl.  Add squash and toss well.  Place onto a foil lined baking sheet.  Bake for 30 minutes or until browned and tender.

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2014-01-27 at 1.46.09 PM

 

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roasted Butternut Squash with Pancetta

  1. Farie says:

    I love butternut squash and we eat it way more often now that we eat Paleo. However, I am with you in that I HATE peeling it; cutting it up isn’t as bad, but the peeling is a big job!

  2. Fae says:

    Then you must find some already diced and try this…it is soooo good!

Leave a Reply

