Well, it was the first of the year and all

You know how at the beginning of the new year, everyone makes resolutions, if not out loud, but perhaps to their inner self?  I did that this year with a little goading from some people here.

In January, Fannie and Farie invited me to come to their hometown and run in one of those 5K fun runs where the spectators throw colored dye on the runners?  You end up looking like something from the early Laugh In show, all tie-dyed with a multitude of colors dripping from you.

laughx

I seriously have never once considered running one of those things, because?  Well, dripping powered dye on top of sweaty runners?  Yech.  Not my idea of a summer afternoon visiting with friends, no?  But, as you know, friends can be persuasive and I signed up for it.

I knew that any training for this would be by myself alone and so the running app on my phone was being used.  Again.  ‘Couch to 5K’ in 9 weeks coaches a person to start with three runs per week and advancing in distance each week until at the end of that eight week, you are running a very comfortable 3 miles.  Or to be quite European about it, 5K.  It doesn’t matter to me if you call it 3 miles or 5 kilometers…that’s quite a distance for a non-runner such as myself.

screen568x568

In addition to this madness, I let Mr. Fae talk me back into doing CrossFit again as well.  I lapsed during last spring and summer with back issues and frankly, didn’t want to hurt myself again.  There is absolutely no logic in my thinking because if I strengthened my back with exercise, I wouldn’t have the back problems.  So, he started my conditioning…again.  My schedule was to Crossfit 4 days a week with running 3 times a week.  It sounds like a lot but I only double up on one day a week with the two workouts.  And my crossfit workout on my double up day isn’t anything but a mobility time with just stretching (also good for my back).

But last week, week 6 of running, I noticed that my heels and achiles were killing me during my running.  Off to buy new running shoes and a visit to my chiropractor fixed that up in no time.   But then?  My lower discs in my back started singing a song of ‘you better watch out’……

Off again to the chiropractor, no running, and absolutely no compression exercises in crossfit.  So, for the last week, my exercise has almost come to a standstill.  I’m hoping to gear it up again starting today.

And with all this sweat and time put into my training, what has happened?  Well, according to Mr. Fae, there is some definition where cellulite used to take up space.  My arm strength has improved so much with the pull ups and push ups I’ve been doing that, I’m very close to achieving what is called a butterfly pull up…however, before you start clapping away madly (and I know you want to) is that my pull ups are also achieved by using a thick green band that I stand on.  It’s like a rubber band on steroids and it helps me get my chin above the bar.  So, no, I can’t do several pull ups without the band but it is my goal to do so.

And one of the nicest things to happen in these 6 weeks of insanity, is that my scale now shows a weight that I haven’t seen since before my children were born.

Yesterday, the announcement for the 2014 Crossfit Games movements for week one appeared.  Two members of my family will be competing to be invited (oh, good Lord, what are you thinking?  I am NOT one of those members!)  But we are all excited about this time period.  At the end of each of the six weeks, people will be able to see how they rank over all IN THE WORLD with their fellow Crossfitters.

2013GamesPicture_rotator2

Game on….

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2014-02-21 at 2.39.56 PM

 

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Well, it was the first of the year and all

  1. Farie says:

    Very inspiring! Good for you!

Leave a Reply

