I’m a bad blogger. No, really.

Well, last time I posted, I promised I would finish up a blog and post it the next day.  That was 10 days ago.  And you’ve been waiting, right?  Right.

Here’s the back story, if you will.  I attended two funerals in one week.  And last week, my daughter had surgery to correct a deviated septum.

My creative writing mojo left town.

But I’m back, a little slower at it right now than I normally like but I expect to be up to speed in no time.

Can I add I’m that I’m suffering from a sore knee, too?  Waaahhhhh……

Anyway, despite my sore knee, Mr. Fae and I took a little hike yesterday since our temperatures bounded into the 70’s.   What was supposed to be a ‘little’ hike turned into more than a five mile hike.  Our destination was only three miles away.

Hiking tip:  satellite photos of destination are misleading and not to be trusted.

We, ok, I read the map incorrectly.  It looked like it was correct complete with greenery at streams and paths to our target.  BUT IT LIED.  Or, on the other hand, I am a moron.

Earlier this year, our local newspaper published an article about some concrete arrows built in the 1920’s that help guide airplane pilots to airports ahead.  At the time, they poured the concrete arrows pointing to the next airport and built a radio beacon for them as well at the arrow.   Not that many of them exist any longer and those that exist have fallen into disrepair.  When I read the article, I saw that the arrow near us was NEAR US.  Literally, right down the road and up a few hills.  Just follow the yellow brick road, if you will.  We climbed more hills than we should of, you’re welcome Mr. Fae, I got my cardio workout in.  But in the end, he spied it from the top of a mountain we were standing on and scratching our heads.  ‘Where the hell is the damn arrow??’ we kept asking ourselves.

Oh, look!  Over there, on that other hilltop…where that group of people are?  Yeah, right there.

Off we huffed and puffed.  Ok, me.  I huffed and puffed, due to the extreme elevation.  And at long last, we stood on the US Air Transport, Beacon #18, arrow included.

IMG_4475 IMG_4477

It was a fun hike, really.  The weather was great, a little windy by the time we finished.  If you live in the area, it is west of our town.  Here was the original map of all of them.

Screen Shot 2014-03-16 at 4.02.40 PM

And you can read more about the history of the beacons and arrows built in the 1920’s here.

Oh, yeah, and there is a geocache there but me in my stupidity, forgot to look up the coordinates and hints.  I don’t know if I want to return anytime soon to find it though.

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2014-03-17 at 6.47.04 AM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

