Tomato, avocado and BACON Salad

Hahahahahaha!!  It is listed as a salad!  Hahahahaaa!  And one more HA!

IMG_1051

When I saw this, I thought to myself, “They’re joking right?”  But no, it truly was listed as a vegetable side dish.  It is more like a BLT sandwich without the bread.  And trust me when I tell you…DOUBLE THE INGREDIENTS.  Because I know you.  You and I are alike.  You will be nibbling on the chopped bacon, spooning heaping handfuls of diced avocados into your mouth.  See?  I just gave you some ideas, didn’t I?

BACON.  TOMATOES.  AVOCADOS.

Short of having your feet massaged while eating this, it just can’t get any better.

IMG_1042

Yes, I’m even giving you the salad dressing to make.  But really, look at the ingredient list.  Bacon, tomatoes, avocados, cilantro, red onion (shallots for us), EVOO, and red wine vinegar.  You can whip this up in no time flat.

IMG_1045

Combine the oil, vinegar, chopped cilantro, salt and pepper.  Whisk it all together.IMG_1046

If you’re like me when the recipe calls for 6 slices of cooked bacon, you cook the entire package as your due.  Then you chop up only what the recipe calls for while eating the remainder of the bacon as your own personal appetizer.IMG_1049

Same goes for the avocados.  Who can resist their creamy goodness?  Not me.

IMG_1050

Dice up the onion and place all the veggies in a container large enough to mix thoroughly.  Add the bacon and drizzle the dressing over it all.  Stir gently.

Your ‘salad’ is done.

BUT….I knew that was not going to be enough for Mr. Fae.  I grabbed some lettuce mixture and plopped the newly made salad onto of the lettuce.  Voila.  A BLTA.  Pair that with a nice steak and you’re good to go.

BLTA Salad

  • 6 slices bacon
  • 1⁄4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1⁄4 teaspoon salt
  • 1⁄4 teaspoon pepper
  • 4 plum tomatoes, seeded and chopped
  • 2 large avocados, pitted and diced
  • 1⁄2 red onion, diced

Place bacon on a paper towel-lined plate; microwave on High 2 minutes or until crisp; chop bacon. Or bake your bacon or cook it on the stovetop.  Your choice.  Combine oil, vinegar, cilantro, salt and pepper, stirring with a whisk. Combine tomatoes, avocados, onion and bacon in a large bowl. Drizzle vinaigrette over tomato mixture; toss gently.

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2014-01-27 at 1.42.55 PM

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tomato, avocado and BACON Salad

  1. Farie says:

    Yummy!

Leave a Reply

