And then? My brain exploded.

BeanCounters11

Most recently I have put my ‘retirement’ on the back burner for a bit.  I have been helping out a family member and their brand new business.  And you know me, the math hater?  Back in the ol’ accounting chair once again.  This makes four times that I have ended up doing this.

I love helping out and getting out of the house.  Since I’ve taken care of old scrapbooking issues (like getting my kid’s albums done.  Finally.)  my days off from taking care of grandkids tend to be slow.  Not that I’m not busy; I have been teaching myself more software programs to become more proficient at my scrapbooking.  I can only talk to myself for so long before I make myself crazy.  And by the time Mr. Fae comes home, I’m blind from working on the computer all day.

But back to my new hours.  When I worked at a local TV station here, my brain would not turn off when I got home and tried to wind down.  There was so much going on at work and I was on call 24/7 that work never got put on the back burner.  They say that your brain is a muscle and you must exercise it to keep sharp.  Back then, my brain had bulging biceps.  Once I left that career and could slow down a bit, it felt like heaven not needing to go 100 mph.

But now?  I’m hoping that my brain has muscle memory.  In these past few weeks, I’ve managed to have my brain run two marathons, the Iron Man, and the Olympics.  I haven’t had to think of business accounting, the detail of it all, in a long, long time.  And?  I’m enjoying it all again.  I have always been a detail minded person so making sure each column adds up credit and debit, is satisfying.  Some people, when balancing their bank statement, can’t even up with the bank by $50 or less, adjust it off.  Seriously?  One cent and I’m back churning through check registers and bank print outs…I’ll find it or die.

I am a bean counter…not in the professional strictness sense of the word but one I’m comfortable with.  And I hope they are comfortable, too.

Love,

Fae

Screen Shot 2014-01-05 at 7.17.32 AM

 

 

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to And then? My brain exploded.

  1. Farie says:

    Cute…I can relate…I too will die trying to find the 3 cents!

Leave a comment