Placing a Cache

I have mentioned a few times about our new hobby, geocaching. Biff is WAAAAAY more into than I am but I enjoy getting out and finding new caches. (I only have 332 at this moment, compared to his 500.)  Biff also loves to place them in fun places, and his favorite is to put them in trees so people have to climb them.

This weekend, he told me he found a part of Spanish Springs that was going to be a development a long time ago, but has since fallen by the wayside called “Pyrenees Estates.” The streets are all named Basque things, like Euskera Dr., Ispaster Dr., and Lasaka Dr.  Then it occurred to me that I should place a Basque themed cache up there!

I scrounged around my house and found the following swag: Basque postcards, a laburu (Basque symbol representing the four provinces of Spanish Basques), a Basque key chain, a rubber bracelet with “Basque Pride” on it, and a patch. Biff carefully camouflaged a tin with camo duct tape I bought him for his birthday, and we put a log and a pen in, and headed up to the mountains!

The swag!

The swag!

The Camo!

The Camo!

If you look on a map, the roads are marked, and SEEM like nice, paved roads.  This is not true.  It is one heck of a dirt road.  But once you get up there, the view is amazing. It was a windy day, but it was bright and sunny; a perfect day for placing a cache! (Apparently another new hobby is 4x4ing.)

On the corner of Basque and Basque!

On the corner of Basque and Basque!

The first part of placing a cache is finding the perfect place to put it.  I found a pile of rocks, and I knew that is where I had to put it.

In the rocks.

In the rocks. I just noticed the shell.  I didn’t put that there.  And this picture is misleading.  It isn’t this easy to find.

The second part of placing a cache is getting the right coordinates.  My smart phone’s GPS is fairly accurate, but we also had a hand held GPS device specifically designed for geocaching, so we use that when placing caches.

Biff getting the coordinates.

Biff getting the coordinates.

And it wouldn’t be geocaching if we didn’t have our adventure dog with us!

Little Laida.

Little Laida.

Then all I have to do is put it on Geocaching.com and wait for people to go find it!  However, it did snow, so I am not sure how fast someone will get out there, but knowing some of these cachers, it won’t be TOO long!

This entry was posted in Geocaching, Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Placing a Cache

  1. Felia says:

    I know! That makes all the difference in the world!

  2. Mirela Iepurela says:

    Wonderful idea for a themed cache 🙂

Leave a comment